National Prematurity Awareness Day

Today is National Prematurity Awareness Day.  Yeah, I know what some of you are thinking, “Big deal, there is a national day for everything.”  Every cause has people who fight for it. Premature birth is NOT one of my near and dear causes, but to so many of my friends, it is.  Today, I honor them.

I know why my kids were premature – my body was tapped out of space at 12 lbs of baby and all the extra stuff they required.  No human body is meant to carry a litter.  I don’t question the cause of my children’s prematurity, but some moms are left to wonder why their babies entered the world so early.

I also had a great outcome when it came to long-term health of my children.  Have there been extra therapies and other bumps in the road?  Sure, but I am one of the lucky ones who has not had to deal with long-term huge issues.  So many of my MOM (Mothers of Multiples) friends have gone to hell and back to save and better their children’s lives.  I get why this cause is HUGE for those moms.


GroupPhoto_2_03312000

Here are my 3 kids the day they were born.  They are my favorite preemies in the whole wide world!!  Today they are strong, resilient, talented, beautiful kids.  I am smitten by the world’s cutest triplets.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MoDLin
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:52:23

    It’s wonderful that you “get why this cause is HUGE” and that you take the time to post about it. I’m glad your three are doing well. Thanks so much for your support.

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Nov 18, 2010 @ 15:17:05

      Premature birth is a scary thing – the women who have wondered if their children will survive while they sit in the NICU are heroes. 🙂 No one should ever have to go through that. Mine were eaters and growers – cant imagine the strength of the moms who dealt with so so so much more. Blessings!!

      Reply

Leave a comment