Dress clothes are not for Piepers, or are they??

This colder weather does not mix with dress pants.  I have my reasons, and I am pretty sure I am staging a coup on dress pants starting tomorrow.

1.  November through March recess duty while wearing slacks is pretty much like standing outside naked.

2.  Dress pants don’t allow for tennis shoes or croc wearage.  I might end up on What Not to Wear, and that would make for a free trip to New York and a hair cut, both valued at about the same amount.  Oh, but New York has all the bed bugs and yuck, so nope, don’t want to go there.  Thus, no dress pants for me.

3.  I get sick of wearing pants that require me to act like an adult.  I work with children all day, let me be one.  I find I work best when I can relate to the kids on their level.

4.  Two words:  boogers and snot

5.  One word: kneeling 

6.  Recess is horrid in dress pants.  Oh, did I say that already?

7.  Dress pants look ridiculous when combined with this kind of hat:

8.  Glue and paint are hard to get out of dress clothes and I am not about to start dry cleaning anything now – never have, never will.  Dry cleaning is not for me.

9.  I need to wear appropriate clothing, the announcement was made at the end of the school day.  Appropriate clothing for this weather is fleece pants and slippers, but I don’t think that would go over big.  Dress pants are appropriate for, well, someone who lives somewhere else.  I will start wearing my school hoodie daily now to stay warm – I had goose bumps all day today, I and wore a sweater.  This weather requires two warm layers.

10.  Dress pants don’t have pockets and this time of year, I need chap stick.  So yeah.

As you can see, jeans are the obvious answer to my dilemma.


Tonight, Bill and I spent date night at the mall.  Yep, Bill’s favorite place.  We experienced something I didn’t know if I would ever experience in my life, we walked into Halberstadts and came out owners of a suit, real dress shoes and one cool mama tie.  Oh, and a white button down shirt that came in a wrapper.  Coulda knocked me over with a feather.  And it was painless (except for the paying part.)  I also found a really cool sweater to wear over my dress instead of the shrug I had previously bought.  I tell ya, Forever 21 is the answer to every fashion dilemma.  

20101117_221127_6015 Bill’s first grown up dress shoes – EVER! 

20101117_221254_6020 Curley, checking to see if the tie matches her braces.

Now, if I wear black dress with silver accessories (that break my necklaces and earring cant match rule!) and sweater and my shoes that are being shipped to my house are silver, what color nylons do I wear, black or nude?  Tell me what to do!  Here:

20101117_222434_6029     20101117_221823_6021  20101117_222315_6027

Nice backdrop for these pics, huh?  Yep, we have a bathroom just like you do.  Nylon voting, start now.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missi
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 22:00:36

    Nude… just do it.

    Reply

  2. Larisa
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 22:01:18

    You look great!! I’m not going to be much help w/the nylon color choice, I’d do either one. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Roni
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 22:35:53

    How did you get all of this done tonight after church? Nylons – have you considered silver, or a real translucent, shimmery white? Otherwise, I’d go with the nude since your shoes are silver.

    Beautiful outfit by the way!

    Reply

  4. Roni
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 22:36:40

    Bill’s shoes look awesome!

    Reply

  5. Rachelle
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:00:49

    Who wears nylons anymore? But I suppose you kinda have to in Tundra land. 🙂 I would go with nude as well, but then just make sure your dress doesn’t stick to them. Consider a pocket-size Static Cling spray.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: What’s a girl to do? « Our Piep Show
  7. Trackback: The second half got a little, well, stressed–an overview « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

