Overcoming Pot Fear

I spent all day in the kitchen.  Well, the part of the day I was home, anyways, because this morning, Bill was a super trooper and took me to Unglued’s Craft Fest where he learned he wasn’t yuppie enough to enjoy the elements while I mustered up enough tree hugger to thoroughly LOVE the whole thing. 

20130223_130005_8621

When we got home, Bill had to do his college boy stuff and the kids were all doing their own stuff (read: Xbox) so I decided to cook the day away so I could head into the week prepared to eat right.

For lunch, Princess and I attempted a kid-friendly Stuffed Pizza Cupcakes.  We had pizza sauce all over our hands, our rolls didn’t stick together, and it was a flippin’ mess, but when they came out of the oven, it was a HUGE hit times four!  This is a fun way to make little pizzas.

20130223_130244_8633

Spaghetti Squash Alfredo – Don’t tell the fam.  They don’t like spaghetti squash, so they think.  They wont even know because today I roasted and noodled the squash.  Tomorrow, I will make the sauce part of it and serve it with broccoli.  I wont even tell them and then will wait to see if they notice, just like I did with tofu pudding.

Creamy Taco Soup – Princess is our soup connoisseur.  She gave it a shrug, “It’s alright.”  So I put it over brown rice and Bill and I will eat it as lunches this week.  I think it tastes a little Qdoba-ish.  Bad picture alert!!

20130223_161926_8639

Pork Carnitas – I made them with pork chops instead and maybe that was too fat-less a choice because they looked nothing like the photo from the recipe and were slightly dry.  My liquid never got syrupy but Bill really liked the flavor.  I served it with baked brown rice and roasted asparagus.  The Piepers who eat veggies loved the asparagus.  20130223_161900_8637

20130223_185841_8640

The big deal today, and I am so very proud of myself, is the proper use of my Dutch Oven.    A couple Christmas’s ago, I asked for a Dutch Oven so I could do stuff like this.  My super smart mother-in-law was all like, “Uh, don’t you have one??”  And I was all, “Nope.”  And then she told me all about how my pot that I make chili and boil noodles and all that normal stuff in was a Dutch Oven.  “WHAT?  I certainly can’t put this pan with plastic handles in the oven!!”  But I looked it up online, and most certainly it can go in the oven.  But I waited until today to actually try it because I didn’t want to ruin my favorite pot.  Dumb me.  It was just fine.

20130223_130033_8626

Last on my list was Crock Pot Teriyaki Chicken maybe to be served in Chicken Fried Rice if I have enough.  That is going to be lunches this week as well.  Maybe even a supper.  Maybe breakfast – who knows. 

It is 7 O’clock and I am sick of my kitchen now.  I am also sick of snow.  It can be so pretty, like this morning was, but I think we have enough now.  (We have to raise the red flag to Ole Man Winter – a white one wouldn’t show!)

20130223_130143_8630

Leave a Reply

