Eagle Scout Court of Honor Decor

When our son passed his Eagle Board of Review, I started the hunt for the ultimate Court of Honor decorations.  I am not a crepe paper/balloons kind of girl, I don’t like high cheesy levels, and I want to do things cheap.  I didn’t find much of anything on any website or blog anywhere.  I am sure someone out there has great ideas, but they were nowhere to be found.

I decided to go with natural decorations because of the location of the ceremony.  I probably would have done this regardless of where it was, however, because the other option was red, white, and blue with splashes of yellow and it is hard to use those colors without getting a wee bit too uh, loud or something.  Scouts to me is browns and tans, so we built with those colors.  The most time consuming part was painting blocks with the twelve points of the Scout Law, which are words everyone should live by.  Obviously, we were working on Brave here.  The dining room table was taken over for quite some time with this little project.  We simply cut down 2X4’s into the right heights and lengths, sanded them down, painted a base coat and got to work with the stencils.

20121110_200731_7603

Once the blocks were stenciled, we sanded them down, and by we, I mean Bill.  Then we simply watered down dark brown paint about 1/2 and 1/2 and painted a layer over them to make them more rustic.

20121110_210919_7605

20121202_145606_7743

Layered on a base of burlap, we put a small glass vase with twigs and gold ting ting, and pine cones – both small ones in the vases and large scattered.  The cones came from the farm, so they were special pine cones, not just your everyday variety.

20121202_150238_7748

20121202_150254_7749

A simple way to decorate.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Jun 25, 2015 @ 07:46:28

    thanks for this! My son’s Eagle COH is this Saturday. I’ve taken your idea and ran with it! I used scrap wood from the poles from decking and pallet wood that split and couldn’t be used in projects. I just hand wrote my words to save money and stained then on top of the light blue and light green colors they already were (lots of sanding!). They turned out fabulous! Now to find pine cones although its high summer so maybe just pine cuttings? Im using my small mason jars with a couple small flags and soarkly spiky things in them in the center. Can’t wait to put them all together. I’ll try to remember to pist a puck when ee set up. Thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

