Interstate

The alarm went off at 6:00 AM.  I hit snooze.  I don’t do 6:00 AM well, not at all if given the choice.  But I had no choice.  Stumbling through the getting ready part of the morning routine, I dreaded the long drive I would be making alone. 

Where you think you’re going, baby?

I loaded my things into Goldie, including my Zune which had been reloaded the night before.  Kissing Bill and the kids good-bye for a couple days away from them is always hard, but I forced myself into the car and backed it out of the safety of the garage.  I got my sunglasses ready, knowing I would be driving straight into the sun as it rose over the highway, heading east/southeast for hours.

So Get In The Car
We Can Ride it
Wherever You Want
Get Inside it

 

After clearing the city, I joined a few other travelers on the interstate.  Not too many fellow vehicles joined my journey that morning.  Soon, my favorite radio stations started to get fuzzy and I reached for my Zune.  It was about 7:30 AM and I was starting to wake up as I smiled and loaded a little dance mix.

Generally, my driving consists of shufflin’ kids to all the needed places.

Everyday I’m shufflin’

But this morning, I had the road, the car, and the stereo all to myself.  I pushed play and turned it up.  And I turned it up more.  And I cranked the bass until the rear view mirror vibrated with the pulse of the song.  I cracked a smile as I listened to music I won’t listen to with my kids and hub in the car.

It wasn’t long before my feet were tappin’ and the shoulders were doing a little shimmy. 

Get up, get down, put your hands up to the sound

Oh, that’s right, I couldn’t, I had to steer.  But the music was calling my name and my whole self was movin’ before long.

Just dance, gonna be okay, da da doo-doo-mmm

I was drumming and singing at the top of my lungs, making up words when I didn’t know them, smiling, laughing.  I am sure the whole car pulsated down the road. 

Once in a while, someone would pass me and I would, for a moment, freeze and act all mature, sometimes even turning it down quick-like, so the other driver couldn’t figure out where those dang thugs with the blaring radio were.

Can’t read my,
Can’t read my
No he can’t read-a my poker face

And then when the coast was clear, I would crank it back up.  Go ahead and make fun of me – but I wont apologize because I was born this way.

I’m beautiful in my way
‘Cause God makes no mistakes
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born this way.

Music has a funny way of staying with a person long after it is shut off and so many other things occur.  I woke up this morning thinking about all my options for the floor.

I could

get on the floor

step on the floor

tear up the floor

work on the floor

clap my hands on the floor

rock it up on the floor

kill it on the floor

steal it quick on the floor

but I think I choose

stay young on the floor.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Hi Ho a Dairy-O a Shopping We Will Go « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

