McNutt, You Better Pull Through!!

It is that time of year again when every Sunday I hate people and love people based off the attitude of each football fan on his or her Facebook wall.  Gloaters, whiners, sassy in-your-face fans of specific teams I distain, the we-only lost-because-we-played-a-good-team and you-won-because-you-played-a-team-that-sucks people,  just back off and rejoin the world of niceties after the Superbowl.

(Sidenote:  Being a fan of both the Packers and the Vikings is not even legit. That is not a nicety, that is against the Bible, which reads (He)stood up in front of all the people and asked them, “How long will you try to have it both ways?” in 1Kings 18 and also reads: Jesus said, “you are neither hot nor cold, but you are lukewarm and I will spit you out.”  One last verse to support my position. Mark 9:40  “He that is not against us is for us.”)

Now, I am a HUGE football fan.  I LOVE the game.  I really love NDSU football and yes, I love the Vikings, who are 1-0 might I add, division leaders, top of the heap.  Take that, some of you haters.  Be happy for me.  #1!!!

20120909_194641_6227

It could be true that as of late, my Vikes have kinda let me down in a little minor way.  When the purple people eaters are in “building years” it is hard to stay engaged in the season.  This is where fantasy football come in very handy.  Fantasy football forces me to care about other teams and watch stats like an expectant mom timing contractions.

I am in a league with my extended family.  That is a shocker, I know.  We hardly have any boys.  Glad to represent my family branch, the sport duds, I have had multiple successful years.  Previous winning teams have carried fantastic names like Culpieper, Roethlespieper, and once there was a version named Superchick.  The first year, the year I was Culpieper, beyond Culpepper and Moss, I drafted only guys named Smith and Johnson.  I kicked butt.  The year I was Roethlespieper, I only drafted guys who had hard names to pronounce.  That is how I roll.

This year, I went with a new method.  It was called “random” and I ended up sitting pretty dang good.  Mostly because I drafted Marvin McNutt.  “Who the heck is that?”   Well, he is my team namesake.  This year, I am simply McNutt and my team motto is “Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t!”  Marvin was cut by the Eagles prior to the season, but how can I do the same?  He is the bedrock of my team.  Someone needs to love him.

This week, I played JP, who is competing for the first time, mostly because of peer pressure and also because I made him pay up and join in.  I like to encourage gambling.  His team is Jimmy Cracked Corn.  This week, he is up against his dear mom.  Yup, McNutt vs. Jimmy Cracked Corn.  It has been a close matchup, but I am only down 7 point and I have two people left playing Monday night games – Antonio Gates and Anquan Boldin.  He is going down.  Sorry, no mercy for the kids.  Mama has pride.  Welcome to the big game, little boy.  Booyah!!  And Skol, Vikings!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: McShort Pants | Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

