Finding a Balance

I started back to the gym this week.  I know, it is only Tuesday.  But I went yesterday and today, so that makes it official.  I am back on the working out band wagon.  Yesterday, circuits.  Today, Zumba.  Tomorrow, Iron Man.  And I did the one thing I didn’t really think I would ever do at the gym (besides get naked and shower there.)  I weighed in on the scale in front of my gym training girl and let her see the number and even worse, write it down.  Crap, what happened over the summer?

Oh yeah, what happened over the summer is that I ate whatever whenever and enjoyed my kids, relaxed, and was not at all consumed by my calorie count nor my rate of calorie burning.  I didn’t care and I was lovin’ every minute of it.  Look at these kids.

20120823_072807_6122

Does it look like I have time to burn at the gym?  Every day they are getting older and bigger and closer to leaving and the mom in me screams, “YOU CAN BE SKINNY AND FIT IN 6 YEARS WHEN THIS IS OVER!!!  DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME NOW!!!!!”  

For example, today JP and I saw each other for those precious 30 minutes of chaos as the kids eat and get out the door on time while I attempt to get myself ready as well.  Sure, there was a hug involved and some hurried “Have a good days” but then I was backing out of the driveway and the bus was rounding the corner and the next time I heard from him was at 6:00 when he got home from Cross Country.  Oh, but I left at 6:15 for Zumba class and when I got home at 8:00, he was sleeping already.  Why?  He has practice tomorrow morning at 5:30 AM so will I see him tomorrow?  I don’t know. 

If I didn’t go to Zumba, I could have spent a couple hours with my son tonight.

How do I balance this all?  It has been almost a week of school, and I miss them.

Oh, that weighing in thing?  I am in a contest – I have to stop eating crap so I can win.  I am a tiny bit competitive.  But I also refuse to become fixated on eating and working out.  Those two things are important but not even close to as important as my family.  NOT EVEN CLOSE.  I have a hard time with doing something partially – I am all in or not in – but I am going to work on that.  Along with not spending any money.  Basically, I am going to be perfect from now on.

AUGH!!!!

skinny

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Anderson
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 21:45:05

    You just wrote about ME! I too worked out tonight and continue to fight with the “balance” – you are not alone! At least I can work out when the kids are at their activities! Erik was at Football and EMA swimming….. good luck! It is not easy! P.S. JP is really getting tall! Please tell him hello!

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Aug 29, 2012 @ 06:50:51

      Circuits is at 5:45 AM, so at least the kids are in bed and I dont use our evening time…that is a plus. the draw back is that I dont do 5:45 AM well. Ever. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

