They have no idea

1.) What do your kids have that you always wanted when you were a kid?

Where to start?  I grew up in a very poor home.  I didn’t have much of anything materialistic, honestly.  My kids have no idea how good they have it.  Actually, yes they do, I remind them often.  It is good to be grounded.

1.  Cars that drive us where we need to go generally without breaking down or running out of gas and floors that aren’t rusted through.

2.  Air conditioning and heat.  Seriously, our home growing up was freezing in the winter – and hot in the summer.  Mostly I remember the freezing part.  I don’t like being cold.

3.  Clothes that are pretty cool.  Bill knows that I will go overboard in this area just to overcompensate for my lack of acceptable clothing as a child.  All your shirts need to be Hollister, well, other than going in that deep dungeon, I have no problem with that.

4.  Cinnamon Toast Crunch.   Golden Grahams.  

5.  Corn-free pancakes.  Yup, don’t ask.  My kids get to eat strawberries, chocolate chips, and cool whip on their pancakes. Not rice.  And they can slather on butter as much as they want, and drench them with syrup.

6.  Unlimited toilet paper.

7.  Unlimited use of electrical services and hot water.  Bonus: add together to get dishwasher that isn’t me. 

8.  Adult teeth.  My top row of 8 pearly whites are fakers – yup, this picture perfect smile is full of porcelain and backed with gold. 

9.  Trampoline

10.  A mom like me.  Seriously.  That is a given.  This whole blog could have been about #10. 

But I love my family and I love who we are, and with a different childhood, we would have different stories.  We overcame.

‘And now, let the weak say, “I am strong.” Let the poor say, “I am rich because of what the Lord has done for us.”’ – A song sung or played at all of our weddings.  We were rich.

Mama's Losin' It

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie@southmainmuse
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 22:08:17

    This made me smile. (The prompt I chose.) I love the comment about the clothes. My children have an obscence number of bathing suits — the $10 Walmart variety. Because as a child, growing up in Florida for pity’s sake, where we swam eight months of the year — my mother only bought us one. Loved reading this.

    Reply

  2. debpieper
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 06:34:25

    Oh yeah, even up here in ND, my kids need at least 3 suits each. Did you just keep putting on the same suit 10 times a day?

    Reply

  3. Stacie @ Snaps and Bits
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 07:57:21

    Wow, no heat in the winter? I don’t like to be cold either! My son has worn the same suit all summer because he likes it the best. It’s getting pretty threadbare…Great post!

    Reply

  4. Casey
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 08:30:24

    I absolutely love your quote at the end. While I didn’t experience this I feel I was the benefactor as a child of my mother having a similar experience to yours. Having a mom like herself would have been my mother’s dream and she tried to give us everything she never had, toys…and sugar cereal included. This brought back very fond memories of my mother who passed away five and and a half years ago, thank you for sharing!

    C

    Stopped By from Mama Kat’s
    My Prompt This Week – http://www.caseyandcolter.net/5611/breaking-free/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

