Gobs of Cobs

We are housing a trailer full of sweet corn.  Sweet corn can only be housed so long before it goes out with the trash and that is a tragedy, so yesterday, I learned how to freeze corn. 

Here is the deal, I know of only one lady I would go to for corn freezing advice – my beloved mother-in-law.  For the 18 1/2 years of my life that I have known her (which is almost half of my life, and yes, I am keeping track so some day, I can call her up and tell her that I have known her longer than all the time I didn’t know her – follow that?) back on topic – she has been making corn since before I was born, basically.  We call her corn “bathtub corn”.  Back when I was stupid, and knew nothing about real life, I asked her how she made her corn, and I must have phrased the question strangely because she told me she made it in the bathtub (my interpretation.)  Thus, I pictured her bleaching down the tub in prep for the 100 cups of corn she stirred in there with a long wooden dowel, mixing in all the butter and salt and stuff like that.  But no, that is not really how it goes.  And that is a good thing because I was a little grossed out by that thought.

First things first, you have to shuck that stuff.  Shucking corn with JP causes me to sing “Jimmy Crack Corn.”  Not the version with Eminem and 50 Cent because seriously, I am better than that.  The old school version, where the master gets bucked off the horse because a fly bit the horse and he dies.  And I don’t care.  That kind of good stuff. 

20120821_145650_6096

Then, ya gotta cut the corn off raw.  GASP.  Some people cook the corn first.  Whatever, but that is not how you make bathtub corn.  I have always wanted to become a Bundt cake genius, but that hasn’t happened.  No worries, I found another use for the pan – holding that corn – thanks to a tip from the best lunch lady in the world.

20120821_144756_6094  20120821_151338_6098

And here is the secret recipe:

Combine in 13 x 9 inch pan:

  • 10 cups RAW corn, cut from cob
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup butter (I use 1/4 cup)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 TBSB sugar (may omit)
  • 2 cups water

Bake covered for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes….

20120821_154814_6099

Then, drum roll please, the best part.  Place pans into bathtub full of icy water to cool.  YES – BATHTUB CORN!!! 

20120821_164603_6102

Scoop into pint size ziplock bags.  I put 2 cups in each one.  Squeeze air out and freeze.  Now in January, you can eat yummy corn instead of flavorless stuff.  You’re welcome.

(So much for cleaning out the freezer, I seem to be storing up for winter.  Call me Ma.)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa J
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 18:46:16

    That’s awesome!! So if you use salted butter, can you omit the salt called for in the recipie?

    Reply

  2. Julie S
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 22:20:52

    we’ll be trying this too since my hubby came home with some corn last weekend too!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: I Would Do Anything For Love « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

