Barbie vs. Me

Like decisions such as “should I watch TV or run a marathon?” or “should I play chess or surf Facebook?” or “should I pee my pants or use a toilet?”, this was an easy one for me.  (On a side note, I am not sure how to punctuate that sentence. Where does that comma go?) Mama Kat has a few good prompts this week, but I chose this one right away.  I picked it because:

1.) Last week we covered your Top 10 Life Stories…this week choose one and share all the details.  Well, last week, I didn’t blog a thing, so can’t really follow up on that one.  If so, it would have been the day we heard we were having triplets.

2.) Are you on Pinterest? Share the last five items you pinned, choose one and let it inspire a blog post.  I am not on Pinterest.  I don’t need another addiction.  I know myself better than that.  Bill has an account, though, so maybe I can live through him?

3.) What were you like in high school?  One word.  Dumb.  Another word.  Poor.  Another word. Well, I didn’t pick this because I didn’t want to go there…so I wont.

4.) Share a photo that was taken of you, that you think really captures who you are.  I may revisit this one some day…storing it for a day I feel like blogging after my vacation later this winter, you know, when I am all tan and happy? All good things are worth waiting for…wait for it.

5.) The one place in my life that I know better, but haven’t been able to do better is… (inspired by Oprah)  Oh yes, this is my prompt.

I am struggling to eat well.  I know better.  I really know better.  Last year during my clean eating kick, I felt so so so much better.  I was pretty much sold on the benefits of  letting go of everything I love thing.  I rocked it.  I bought weird stuff and I ate it, learning to love new things.  Now, I just can’t get myself back on the bandwagon.  Like not at all.  I love chips.  I love cookies.  I love candy.  I love pop.  I LOVE these things so much, like the air I breathe.  I also love french fries, big roast beefs, and pizza.  Yep, me, the carrying pop in one hand and a pocket full of candy in my favorite jeans girl.

QuintessentialBarbie[1]

Source

Would I lose weight and shape up if I changed what I shove in my pie whole?  (Man, I love pie now too!!) Sure I would, with the amount of working out I do I would probably be something like Barbie.

But Barbie is overrated.  Ken left her.  And her perky boobs get in the way when she sleeps on her stomach.  Mine kindly move to the side.  There are benefits to being real.  Like real people can eat brownies.  And Barbie will never know Olive Garden nirvana.

I know better, but so far, the price hasn’t been worth it for me…yet…but it is coming.  I promise to start right after vacation.

Mama's Losin' It

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane@BeStillaMinute
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 09:16:18

    He he! I agree. Barbie is totally overrated. Plus, being hungry makes us mean. Or is that just me?

    Reply

  2. Angelia Sims
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 10:30:11

    I feel you on this one……soooooo much! I LOVE my junk. I know it’s not healthy, but it makes me happy. I am exercising now and that helps with my junk food addiction, but to break the cycle, aren’t I supposed to NOT like junk? I wish you luck! I hope one day, I can do better as well. 🙂

    Reply

  3. lisleman
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 12:59:26

    I like your decision examples. I just had to make one – should I comment or browse on by. I found a funny pic of barbie. You might like it.
    http://afcsoac.blogspot.com/2011/10/barbie-message-what-about-ken.html

    OH – blogging and reading blogs – much more educational and entertaining that FB! Chess? – depends you are playing against.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

