Budokon? What the crap is that?

So I have left my audience hanging for a while again.  Mostly because I am so busy working out and then falling into bed asleep.  That is the truth.  I have Zumba’d my butt off (somehow, it isn’t actually gone yet.)  I have joined the Bodyflow cult.  I have even sunk so low as to don this flabby lumpy body with a swimsuit and joined in on Hydropower class.  Yup, that is me, gym class babe.  Tonight, I went to Budokon.  I was pretty sure I would like it based off the description:

Combining Yoga, Animal moves, and Meditation this is the type of class that inspires you. Come explore yoga and learn to play again with the animal moves in a safe non-competitive environment. The Budokon philosophy is best expressed in the belief that one must develop power in stillness (yoga) power in movement (animal moves and martial arts) and power in emptiness (meditation).  From Family Wellness Website

I was so looking forward to a class that demonstrated moves like “dead snake” or “sleeping fawn” but somehow, I was in a room with a woman who could kill me with one snap of her wrist and I was attempting these moves:

Go ahead and laugh, I was sweating like a pig.  Intense.  The best part was the 5 minutes of laying in “dog dead” position at the end and focusing on breathing.  Breathing at that point of my life was a true blessing.

After that class, I was heading to Zumba with only one gym shoe, thus attempting the class in my cute little street shoes, when I decided I needed to use the bathroom quick.  Yeah, the stall had no TP.  It was just that kind of day at Family Wellness for me.

So I left Zumba early (first time for everything) and went to the tanning salon where I practiced my “beached whale” move.  It is my best move.

Will I go to Budokon again?  Uhhhhh, wellllll, if I have a bad week eating I might use that class as a punishment for myself.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 21:21:51

    That’s some crazy stuff, pretty sure I’d be “lost” after the first move and would have a hard time catching up! 🙂 (plus I’m not that flexible….never have been)

    Reply

  2. Missi
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 15:46:35

    Reading your post, then watching the video, then reading the post again provided many unique facial expressions that I wish you could have been here to see. 🙂

    Reply

  3. debpieper
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 16:31:23

    Probably similar to mine when I was trying to be a graceful frog…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

