I Zumba’ed

I got all ready – even put in my contacts just because I was about to take the plunge into a fitness class.  If I was going to show up and shake my groove thing with a bunch of other people, I was sure going to do it in style.  I picked my all-black work-out outfit because of course I wanted to look my slimmest.  Yup, I was ready to join the Zumba cult. 

I danced for an hour.  Here is what I know:  once a cheerleader, always a cheerleader.  I can still do the footwork.  Here is what else I know:  I favor shaking my hips to the right.  I am just better at making the shaky thing shake when headed to the right, I don’t know why, I guess I am right-hip dominant.  So I am going to work on my left butt shake before next week, when I plan to try it again.

 Dark Gray colored belly dancing hip scarf

For my 1/2 birthday, which is coming up quickly, I want one of these in gray.  It goes well with my sleek black look.  Once I do this for 8 weeks, I will be ready for my Caribbean Vacation!!

Just a little side note: If Bill joins me ever and I mean EVER in Zumba class, you will know he did something horrible to me and is paying a very very huge penance.

Ok, on to other things.  I am going to share my recipe for Morning Glory Muffins (which I got from my sister-in-law) which have become a breakfast staple around here because I am back to eating healthy.   After all, why bother shaking my thing if I am just sitting around eating M&M’s and Doritos?  Man, that makes me hungry, I might sneak a few chips while I go soak the sweat off.

Mix thoroughly:

2 cups flour (I went half and half – whole wheat/white)

1 1/4 cups sugar

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

Stir in:

2 cups grated carrots (don’t grate your knuckle off like I did)

1 apple – peeled, cored, and grated

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup coconut (skipped it!!  Blech.)

1/2 cups chopped nuts (skipped them!!!  Super blech!)

In another bowl, mix:

3 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

1 cup applesauce made from apples you picked, sauced, and canned yourself (I suppose other stuff will work.)

Add this mixture to the flour mixture; stir just until combined.  Spoon into a very well-greased muffin pan.  (Grease it up like John Travolta, seriously, grease every surface.)

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

So if someone can tell me how many calories are in one of these babies, I will know how many I can eat in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

