Forget not!

The mini-van sweet mommy ride had a little date with the fix-it man last week.  It took an overnight stay to make her all better, and slightly more money than she is worth.  Well, not really, but it was a painful amount.  It was also that day that the Denali went in for his “Holy crap, we have loaded the miles on this year” check-up and system flushin’.  Yep, I was without wheels one day, Bill rode his bike at 6 degrees, and by the time we paid the bill for them both, Christmas gift futures were looking scarce and my old jeans suddenly had renewed life.  No biggie.  It is just money.

1 Praise the LORD, my soul;
all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
2 Praise the LORD, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
3 who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
4 who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
5 who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Today started with a non-flushing master toilet.  Ummmm, who did what in there?  Neither of us.  That was followed by the boys’ toilet not flushing (which is pretty much a non-event, can I get a holla?) but then when Bill decided to do the magic plunger dance with it, the sewage decided to revisit us via the downstairs shower.  YUCK!  Before I could even update my Facebook status, the sewage backup was in our mechanical room, laundry room, seeping into the family computer lab, and within time, under our stairs.  Sewage, I tell ya, sewage.  It was a city issue, so other than cleaning our basement, which we needed to do anyway, no loss.  Except for peace of mind if we allow.

It was decided that I would go to work and Bill would spend the day home.  I got in the van and attempted to leave, but, oh that’s right, today is “Manic Monday” and our garage door opener decided to call it a day also.  It’s all good, Bill is home and he can just open it for me.  Enter Overhead Door repair man. 

Ya know what? 

2 Praise the LORD, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—

 

Bill and I laughed together. 

In church, we sang this song this Sunday, so tonight, the girls and I showed off some dance moves because HE IS GOOD!!  It has been a long time since a dance party rocked the whole neighborhood. 

Sometimes, God speaks through refugees from Africa to remind us that everyday as an American, I need to remember all the benefits He has provided to me.

Thankful today for basements that are finished beautifully, garage doors that keep our collection of toys safe, a neighbor who brought supper, and for opportunity to put into practice the challenge set before us, “Praise the LORD, my soul!”

Leave a Reply

