A Qeekend to Remember

I accidentally hit the “Q” instead of the “W” and I like it better that way.

Bill took the boys on the annual deer hunt opener shindig this weekend.  Yippy for little boys toting guns around the woods.  Boys who built forts in the woods during lunch break.  Guns.  Guns that don’t shoot little BB’s.  In the hands of fort building boys.  A mom’s ultimate heart attack.  Maybe even more than when Crazy Man built the ultimate tree house that was way high off the ground with no safety rails – because now he is climbing trees while toting a rifle.  Be still my beating heart.  I sent them each off with a huge hug and a plea, “PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don’t get shot.”

My girls were at an overnight slumber party.  You do the math.  Ok, I will.  Pieper family – Dad – 2 boys – 2 girls = me home alone!!  On a Friday night!!  I did what all normal moms do.  I spend an hour and a half in the fabric store.  Why?  Because I bought a sewing machine and needed something to sew.  Did I buy a pattern?  Heavens no, why pay money when the internet is full of free stuff.

Here is my new beauty:

20111106_092941_2326

Here is how I learned how to cut the bricks and cobblestone pattern:

20111105_090018_2319

Winding my first bobbin (which I mostly called “bobber”)

20111106_083931_2322

It wasn’t all peaches and cream, I had problems, I am not going to lie.

I guess some people need to say outloud, “put the pretty sides together.”  Oops.

20111106_085850_2323

So I had to run to the store to get a seam ripper.  And I bought more fabric. I might see a problem, an addiction.

Also, it is not advisable to text and sew. 

20111106_092738_2325

Mistakes happen, but that is ok if you own a seam ripper.

20111106_091300_2324

And in the end, you will have a cool bed runner (I don’t know what they are called, but hotels have them across the ends of their beds, so I figured I should too.)

20111106_212936_2351

One of these days, if my ADD doesn’t get the best of me, I will finish it.  It will look awesome in my room – just part of my multi-year overhaul.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 20:04:00

    Wow a whole night alone, I’m envious ! And you are so talented with that sewing machine, I can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Nov 08, 2011 @ 07:12:59

      Me too – maybe tonight, I will sew the blocks together. Ya know, maybe between the piano and drum lessons. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

