My idea of the perfect Halloween

I hate Halloween.  I don’t just dislike it, I pretty much hate it.  Why?  I hate the pressure to buy $30+ costumes or be all crafty and best-mom-in-the-universey and make them.  I don’t care that much about something they will wear for 2 hours.  I just don’t.  I also don’t like candy.  Ok, that is a lie.  I don’t like the kids who come after I am sick of handing out candy and am trying to wrestle my over-sugared kids to bed and DING DONG!!  “GO AWAY!!”  JP decided long ago that Halloween was pretty much Satanical and he wanted no part in it.  Crazy Man can’t eat candy.  So what – we cant hide in our house and pretend we aren’t home.  We tried that one year.  The doorbell rang anyway.  I gave away all my trash, piece by piece. Just kiddin’.

50284_142025965845604_3156175_n[1]

I hate scary things, I hate scary movies, scary people, scary ideas.  Thus, I hate Halloween.  I hate evil things – I hate dead corpses hanging from trees while spooky laughs resonate from dark places.  Why celebrate that which gives me nightmares.  I like peace.  I like happy.  I like puppies and fluffy clouds, complete with rainbows and unicorns.  I hate witches and I hate goblins.  I hate that kids dress up as the devil.  The devil appears enough to want more of him.  I’d like to see him gone, personally.  I don’t want kids showing up on my front step with machetes.  I just don’t.  I don’t like weapons in the hands of the kids from the hood.

We started a tradition a few years ago of leaving for the night.  One year, we took the kids to Space Aliens.  Big time fun night.  One year, we went bowling.  Great.  One year we spent the evening at our friend’s house.  This year was by far the best.  We went to Taco John’s (yes, potato ole’s are part of my new diet) and then to the library, then Fleet Farm and then to Blow’s Sew and Vac.  Don’t ask me why they called the place Blow’s – no idea.  Oh, the kids loved the night.

Fleet Farm.  You cost us huge money tonight.  Mostly because Curly has woman’s feet now.  Winter boots – $70.  “Don’t worry, mom, when I grow out of them, you can have them!!”  Great.  I always wanted pink boots.  They will look nice with my angry birds hat that I don’t have but want to buy soon!!

Our family’s outing was finished at Blow’s.  Princess and I have decided it is time for us to tackle sewing, so we bought a new sewing machine.  We had a quick lesson from a guy  (first of all, a guy who sews??  and is married with children…hmmmmmm…) who taught us that with the new machine, there is really no skill left in the sewing art – you just tell your machine what to do and it does all the work.  Jeez, if Bill ever loses his job, he can go into sewing machine repair – it is all computerized.  So everyone is getting quilts for Christmas this year.  I also picked up some needles for denim, ya know, in case anyone needs to hem jeans??

And that, my peeps, is a perfect Halloween evening.  I avoided all that is nasty.  Tomorrow, we move on to the Holiday which celebrates thankfulness.  I love thankfulness.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 21:56:15

    That sounds like the perfect way to spend the evening as a family!!! If I buy fabric and thread, will you and Princess make a quilt for me? 🙂
    We incorporated fireworks in the boys’ pumpkins tonight(pryomaniac guy that I’m married to loves to do that at the end of the night)…posted a video you can watch. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kristie
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 22:24:22

    We don’t celebrate Halloween either. Tyler thought he was the only one. He will be excited to know he is not. We went to Cars II at the cheap theater, to Subway for supper (their favorite for some reason) and to Wal-Mart to pick out a toy. We spent less $ than we would have on a costume and candy and didn’t have to see any blood, weapons, fake dead people, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

