Tears and Laughter

Dear Diary,

Seems like the only thing I can do right after I get off the bus after school to bring any sort of happiness to my over-schooled, over-sitting-in-desks-being-all-quiet-and-responsible self is to hop on my drum set and pound out a few songs.  I like to crank out some good Skillet or Newsboys.

So today, as I was pounding another “Hero” out (because “same song different day” seems to be my mantra) I was so disheartened.  I don’t know why today of all days it bothered me so much.  The cymbal is so bent that my joy of banging on it enough to vibrate the windows upstairs is diminished to the point of my entire emotional-state-of-being being hashed.

20111012_171907_2156

I came upstairs to tell mom all about my plight.  “I hate my cymbal!!”  I said to mom.  I felt tears welling in my eyes.  What my mom doesn’t know is that I am being picked on on the bus.  But I will pretend this is all about my broken cymbal.

On the way home from youth group tonight, I spilled.  I told my family how so-and-so called me a “retard” on the bus today for no reason.  I really despise her.  Ya know what Curly said?  She said, “I would tell her ‘Oh thank-you for describing yourself because I have run out of adjectives.’ And then I would walk away and think ‘what a loser.  You are such a disappointment to your parents.’ ”  

My mom and dad were laughing so hard and my dad said, “There’s a comedian in every group.”

And Curly said, “I’m just a realist.  I am actually just a little too short to be a realist.”

And Mom and Dad laughed some more.  Broken drums still equal broken hearts, but at least Curly makes us laugh.

Love,

Crazy Man

PS.  Santa, I will try my best to be good, so can you please bring me a new drum set for Christmas?  I asked my parents for one, but I don’t think it is going to happen.

Mama's Losin' It

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 22:00:54

    😦 Sending hugs Crazy Man’s way. Hope he has a better day tomorrow. It’s hard being a 6th grade boy…..LJ know’s his pain too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

