Ready to jump again?

I am not ready for summer to be over.  I am not one of those moms.  I honestly answer everyone’s “are you ready for school yet?”  with a resounding, “NO!!”   I covet more time with my kids.  I don’t want to send them back to school where someone else gets to spend more time with them than I do.  I am honestly very sad that summer is coming to an end.

Maybe it is because I am sending all four off to middle school and it is a reality slap in the face.  Elementary years are over for us. That era of our family story is over.  Snap your finger, just like that, we move on.  The life of a mom of triplets is full of these moments – no easing in and out of life stages.

Group_04222000

Four middle schoolers, how did that happen?  I am seriously at one of those places in life that I just am floored by the speed of it all.  Is there a way to fill more life into the days we are given?  Can we somehow make it all slow down?  Is there a way to remember more of the little things?  Capture each kid and hold on?

2005-08-29_081205 

Can I keep Princess sweet and innocent?  Unaware of her beauty and charm?  Can I keep Curly full of quirks and redunkulous humor?  Tell me Crazy Man will never stop being so full of life.  Will they enter these years of peer pressure head strong and maintain that drive to be themselves and not be like everyone else?  Do they understand how valuable each of them is right now? 

20090826_072605_2446

I am not afraid of middle school.  JP has done very well there.  What I don’t like is knowing that this is one major step closer to them being independent.  I know,  I know this is how it is supposed to be, my brain knows that very well.  My heart does not like it one bit, and it is winning the war today.  I like my kids – they are ridiculously awesome people.  Of course I don’t want to spend the days without them around.  That only makes sense.

I just want to grab each one and kiss them on the head and make sure they know how much I love them.  In front of everyone on the middle school bus.  Cuz that is how I parent.  I am wondering how dead I will be if I take the camera out there and snap pictures of them getting on the bus?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 19:46:35

    O.k., this made me cry:( Is that my classroom with James and the triplets looking so toddlerish????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

