A Crock Pot Day in June

I collected a few great recipes from my personal chef, Dr. W., this weekend.  I  always come away from her house with a few new great things to try.  Two of them from this weekend were soups, so I copied them and thought I would tuck them away until fall.  You know, when soup season returns.  Well, it returned today.  High of 60, rainy, drizzly day – much like April.  But nope, I checked and it is June 22nd, when I should be eating watermelon and grilled delights.  Whatever.  I won’t complain.  Not today.  Today in Minot, ND, people are losing their homes.  I can deal with un-summer-like weather.

I have posted a less-healthy recipe for White Chili before, which I love, but maybe you want to eat a soup that wont set off your lactose intolerant friends, or maybe a version that is healthier, or maybe you like a broth-ier kind instead of a creamy kind, so this version just may be better for some of you.

Slow Cooker White Chicken Chili

1 lg onion (1 cup) chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

28 – 42 oz. Chicken broth (depends how you like your soup, I used on the higher end)

1 tsp + cumin (to taste)

1 tsp dried oregano leaves

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp red pepper sauce (yeah, I skipped this one and just put in a dash of pepper)

1 1/2 Cup cooked chicken, shredded

2 Cans Gt. northern beans, drained and rinsed

1 11-oz can shoe peg corn, drained

3 TBSP lime juice

2 TBSP chopped fresh cilantro

Mix it all in a crock pot, cover, and cook on low 4 – 5 hours.

20110622_181555_0171

My house smelled phenomenal!  I served it with warmed French Bread slices.  I ate way too much of it and then had to balance the salty of it with English Toffee from Trader Joe’s and a couple big glasses of milk.  AHHHHHH, I feel slightly bloated.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Optimistic Mom
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 12:33:10

    Oh just reading this makes me want to pull out the crockpot. I will definitely have to flag this post to review later. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. debpieper
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 13:19:14

    You are welcome!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

