Acepromazine, please bring relief.

Do you count the surgery day as day 1 or do you wait till the first day after to start counting recovery?  I don’t know.  That is a very deep question.  If we count surgery day as day one, we are on day 7.  If not, day 6.  Adjust it however you would like.

Yesterday was a very trying day in the life of a Lucy owner.  She cried all morning.  I took her out 3 time for about 20 minutes total, which is way against the time rules but I doubt the vet is reading this.  (Dr. B, if you are reading this, please disregard the previous claim.) All she wanted to do is sniff around and pull me.  Lucy is not a mush dog.  I am not a dog sled.  And pulling is WAY up on there on the list of things she shouldn’t be doing.

I know she needed to do #2 and wouldn’t do it for me.  She is a one-man dog these days and I am not that man.  I called the vet.

Me:  HELP, I am going insane.

Tech:  How can I help?

Me:  First, you need to come here and take care of my dog.  I can’t do this.  What she needs is someone to sit with her all day, all night and pet her the whole time.    You may not have bathroom breaks, you may not sleep, you may not eat. 

Tech:  Let me stop you right there.  Lucy is a very strong dog.  Give her three Benadryl and call me back if that doesn’t work.

So I gave her the three pills in one of the magic Greenie Pill Pockets.  (Oh my goodness, these pill pouches are worth every bit of the $10 for 30 of them.  If you have a dog going through this, I recommend stocking up on these things.)  And I sat back and waited for her to loop out and go into some sort of mellow pot-smoking-like peaceful state of bliss.  Yeah right.  I could have fed her the whole box of Benadryl and she still would have been crying.  But then again, all her allergies would have cleared right up…

20110615_105053_0127

This morning, I called the vet’s office again.  I think they are getting sick of me calling.

Me:  Yeah, Benadryl is a joke.  Give me something better before I lose my flippin’ mind.  She won’t lay down and she gets herself so worked up she hyperventilates.  Or maybe that is me, I cant tell anymore.   And I love her and listening to her cry all day and all night pretty much busts my love apart.  (JPism)  And there is only so much of this I can take.

Tech (after consulting with vet):  Dr. B would like her to add Acepromazine to her medicine collection for the next two weeks.  We need her to relax.  (I am thinking, “You need her to relax?  I need her to relax!  And PS. Where is mine?”)

Me (running out the door):  YES!! YES!!  I AM ON MY WAY!!

Lucy is now drugged into a calm and happy existence.  I am thinking this could be magic.  And I think I might take a nap.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 11:57:43

    Poor Lucy. 😦
    Those pill pockets ARE amazing! We use them for our cats too. Totally worth every penny.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 2 weeks post TPLO « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

