Good-bye, elementary school

Tomorrow is the last day of elementary school for three Piepers.  That leaves one of us still at elementary, trying to graduate to bigger and better things – ME!  I received my five year pin from the district today…but what I deserved was “The mom who, except for one little melt down, has held it together this week very very well”  award.

20110601_131447_9426

My kids cleaned up on awards today.  Curly got the Presidential Academic Award.  Here is me pinning her.

20110601_133143_9436

Oh, that is right, Princess earned it too!  Working on getting that pin on her too:

20110601_133310_9439

20110601_133152_943720110601_133320_9441

Some of you are thinking, “What the crap, where is Crazy Man’s Academic Award?”  And to you who are asking, I answer, “Ummmmmm, that aint gonna happen!”

Curly also got the Perfect Attendance Award (which pretty much means “Oh, mom didn’t keep you home when you were a tad sick and should have stayed home to protect the other children” award) and also the Most AR points in the World Award.  She is a tiny bit competitive.  I like that!!  It is better than her big brother, the world’s best example of great potential but little ambition.  Oh that’s right, he is a teenager now, so that is what I can expect for a few years.20110601_134034_9445

And poor Crazy Man sat with no award until the world’s greatest music teacher got up and presented him with a special music award.  I could have kissed her.  I will see her tomorrow, so I might just do that.  I don’t know if she will ever comprehend the hugeness of what she did for my son today.

20110601_134335_9446

In the academic setting, he will never rank as high as the other three, but in the music world, he completely kicks their butts.  She presented drum sticks to him today in front of his peers, and yes, mom got tears because that kid’s talents needed to be recognized too.  Mrs. S.  I sincerely think you have been his biggest influence and loudest cheerleader.  You see to the heart of my son and I can never thank you enough.  Amazing!!

20110601_143137_9481

So there you have it. Tomorrow is just a picnic and skating party so the learning part of our triplet’s elementary years is over.  We ended on a high note.

20110601_140931_9454 

I am not sure what to think of it all.  I put them on a bus not that long ago for their first day of kindergarten.  That morning on our way to the bus, Butterfly Kisses came on the radio and I fought so hard to keep it together. I was sending my girls off to kindergarten with matching butterfly necklaces because for the first time in their lives they would be going somewhere without each other.  After the bus left, and I was standing there on the curb unable to move, a friend gave me a hug and I completely fell apart.  I have that same lump in my throat now.

2005-09-02_110603

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ava Vranish
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:22:45

    This made me have tears! Fly little Robins fly!

    Reply

  2. Missi
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:28:18

    I just hit a milestone tonight as well… even worthy of a FB post!

    Reply

  3. Larisa
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:48:30

    I ❤ this post and completely know what you're going through as your "buddy" LJ is also moving on w/your great kids!!! I'm still warning you guys about BJ, his cuteness saves his butt and I'm guessing he'll use that card a few times in the next 5 years! Thanks for being an awesome friend and a great mentor to LJ and the other children you work with!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kari
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:58:35

    Okay, this SO made me tear up! And what an awesome music teacher!

    Reply

  5. Monica
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 19:14:58

    Let’s hear it for every teach who embraces the child who isn’t a mainstream over achiever! Some people have talents that aren’t as obvious and are embraced by characteristics that are harder to understand. Hurray for teachers and others who can see beyond these and help true talent shine!!!! “Hello middle school. Meet the Piepers!”

    Reply

  6. Rachelle
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 07:58:06

    I too got teary eyed when reading this. How awesome of that teacher to acknowledge your son for what seems to be his “thing”. The girls have done awesome too. Enjoy each & every moment. Blink & they are graduating middle school, blink twice & they are graduating high school. It goes way too quickly, but it sounds like you have done an awesome job. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Trackback: 8 reasons why I love to send my kids to school « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

