Setting my sights on Waffles

I am getting ready for another week of cooking, because whether I like it or not, people around here eat.  (Although Princess is currently down for the count with the stomach flu, so she might survive the short week on toast and Grandma’s Apple Sauce.)

20110416_120947_8144

Honestly, she is sleeping like this – mummy style – I have smelled her morning breath, and it is NOT good, I bet it stinks under there somethin’ fierce.  Note her bucket?

We are heading out of town for Easter.  (Remember what I told you about my neighbors who pack heat?  They still live here.)  Anywho, the fact that we head out makes the week’s menu plan shorter and sweeter because my MIL will take very good care of our eating needs while we are in her home.  (Read:  she will spoil us all rotten!!)

[Anywho drives some of you nuts, so I like to throw it in once in a while.]

Monday – Grilled Pork Chops   I talked Bill into dragging the Weber out to the patio last week.  It may be covered with snow again, but I have declared it grilling season, so I will lace up the boots and throw the chops on.  This recipe is new to me.  I have one child who hates BBQ flavor, but then she doesn’t eat most everything, so I think she may have to go with plan B this night.  I am pretty sure her plan B is a Hershey’s bar.  As she told me last week when there just was no junk food snackies to be found in the house, “desperate times call for desperate measures.” And she unlocked her filing cabinet and pulled one of her Hershey bars out.  (She has to keep the cabinet drawers locked or Crazy Man the hypoglycemic will steal all her goods.)  I don’t know why my kids aren’t normal – I am pretty sure they inherited it all from Bill.

20110416_121022_8146  20110416_121131_8148

She let me photograph her stash…and then it appears she couldn’t resist and sat down for her lunch – a Kit Kat.

Tuesday – Chili.  If it is going to look like winter out there, I will hang on to the parts of winter I love.  Chili is one of them.  I am Deb, Deb I am, I DO like chili in April.  I like it plain; I like it with shredded cheese; I like it with shredded cheese and sour cream; I love it with shredded cheese, sour cream, and Doritos in it.  I am using Crock-pot Tuesday to whip up what could be the last of our Chili for the winter.  I don’t have a recipe other than I just dump tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, kidney beans, chili beans, onion, hamburger, and a bunch of spices in and crock all day.  AHHHHHHHHH, hungry just thinking about it.

Wednesday – Homemade Waffles.  I have been trying out all these boxed recipes because I simply am not a good waffle maker.  They stick to my waffle iron, they are not puffy like my MIL’s, they are not even, they are not good.  I suck at them.  I refuse to be beaten by the almighty waffle, so this week, I am going back to the basics and making them from scratch.  Go ahead, Suzanne, roll your eyes at me.  If this works, the only need I have for the jumbo bag of Krustez from Sams is for camping.  Smile  Oh, I do look forward to camping this summer…ah, summer…I just want to sit in a camping chair reading a good book while slapping mosquitoes.  But that is a whole off-topic rant for another day.

The Waffle Recipe I am going to try, and I picked this one because it involves instant yeast and reminds me of the awesome pizza we had this Wednesday.

3 1/2 cups whole milk, or low-fat milk, or skim milk (want to use some butter milk, it just seems right?)
16 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces
4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (10 ounces)  (I will use whole wheat)
2 tablespoon granulated sugar
2 teaspoon table salt
3 teaspoons instant yeast
4 large eggs
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Note: The batter must be made 12 to 24 hours in advance. We prefer the texture of the waffles made in a classic waffle iron, but a Belgian waffle iron will work, though it will make fewer waffles. The waffles are best served fresh from the iron but can be held in an oven until all of the batter is used. As you make the waffles, place them on a wire rack set above a baking sheet, cover them with a clean kitchen towel, and place the baking sheet in a 200-degree oven. When the final waffle is in the iron, remove the towel to allow the waffles to crisp for a few minutes. These waffles are quite rich; buttering them before eating is not compulsory and, to some, may even be superfluous.
1. Heat milk and butter in small saucepan over medium-low heat until butter is melted, 3 to 5 minutes. Cool milk/butter mixture until warm to touch. Meanwhile, whisk flour, sugar, salt, and yeast in large bowl to combine. Gradually whisk warm milk/butter mixture into flour mixture; continue to whisk until batter is smooth. In small bowl, whisk eggs and vanilla until combined, then add egg mixture to batter and whisk until incorporated. Scrape down sides of bowl with rubber spatula, cover bowl with plastic wrap, and refrigerate at least 12 and up to 24 hours.
2. Following manufacturer’s instructions, heat waffle iron; remove waffle batter from refrigerator when waffle iron is hot (batter will be foamy and doubled in size). Whisk batter to recombine (batter will deflate). Bake waffles according to manufacturer’s instructions (use about 1/2 cup for 7-inch round iron and about 1 cup for 9-inch square iron). Serve waffles immediately or hold in low temperature oven (see above note).

Ok, well, the sleeping mummy has risen, and I must shower so I can go into town and pick out some 100% silk ties from the thrift stores for a little project I have slated for Easter at the farm.  Or maybe I need to nap.  Maybe both, that is the beauty of a Saturday.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sadie Twite
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 12:56:15

    The “puke bucket” looks very similar to the buckets I grew up with. Funny story, when Josh and I got married one of the first things we bought at the grocery store was a bucket of ice cream. I was insistent that we have a “puke bucket” on hand. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Roni
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 17:59:40

    Homemade waffles are great for lunch on Sunday too. I make them Saturday night, refrigerate and heat on the oven racks when we get home from church. NUMMY! If I wouldn’t have just browned my ground beef for nachos I would probably have switched to waffles for tomorrow.

    By the way: if you substitute chicken broth for the beef broth in my spaghetti sauce it will turn orange. It might taste the same, but it’s hard to get past the look of orange spaghetti sauce!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

