My house is never dirty

I take great pride in my ability to make it appear that I keep my house clean.  Ask around.  I slave away for a days to spit shine everything if I know someone is going to see my house.  I do this in August before school starts, every-other Christmas, and in the spring; hence my plans for the weekend.  I don’t just clean the counters of my kitchen, I clean the outside and inside and rearrange the pans in the cupboards.  I just go nuts.  Don’t believe me?  Don’t remember my post about slave driving my lazy children

Source

I don’t know what my problem is.  I guess sometimes I allow my OCD tendencies to get, for lack of a better word, more OCD-ish.  And I want my house to look like that all the time.  ALL the time. 

My reality is nothing like my ideal.  My daily house is a pig sty.  We wash all our laundry and throw it in a pile on our family room floor.  Yep, I said it.  It gets folded about once a week.  My dog keeps my dining floor mighty dirty this time of year; in fact, one day this week, we came home to dog puke all over the dining room.  I hate puke of all kinds.  Our vacuum either comes out not often enough or just plain old stays out.  Right now, all week, actually, it has been in my living room.  You know, just in case I feel like sucking up some dog hair or mud.  We have plenty of mud.  The triplets have taken to playing in all the puddles lately.  Thank God for rubber boots, but AGHHHHHHHHHHHH the mess in my entryway!! 

Ok, so anyways, I think I like to keep my house over perfect clean if people are going to see it is because I don’t want people to know I don’t have it all together.  I admit.  I care what other people think.  Maybe too much sometimes.  And on that note, I will let you in on my plans for the next 24 hours.  My entire family is gone.  Just me and my dog here, and I plan to cross every single able item off this to-do list.  Of course, the gardens are nothing I can do yet, and I cant do the garage without Bill – it is his mess.  But I just might get nuts and add the van to the list…it is driving me nuts, go figure.

How about you?  If your house is a mess and you get a phone call telling you someone is dropping in in about 10 minutes, what do you clean first?  Kitchen sink and counters  and light a candle to cover the smells of life

How about if you have an hour? Kitchen, bathrooms, and floors

A day? The whole list if I can

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rachelle
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 09:01:02

    I straighten up the couch covers & try to clean up the kitchen area if I have 10 minutes. If I have an hour, the main floor bathroom gets cleaned. If I am going to have people stay at the house, I clean the whole house from top to bottom & I recruit my husband to help.

    Definitely believe in the power of candles. Boy do they work wonders on a house full of pets. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

