A couple things for your freezer

I borrowed a cook book from a co-worker.  It is titled something similar to Skinny Ladies in the Kitch; Kick-Butt Recipes for Hungry Girls who Want to Stop Cooking Crap (and Start Looking Hot) by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin.  I changed a couple words in the title as to not offend some of you more offend-able readers.   What it boils down to is that these two ladies are vegan and they eat a whole bunch of stuff that takes me WAY out of my comfort zone, but I found a few things I want to try.

Earlier this week, I made homemade chicken broth from the rotisserie chicken carcass.  Yep, I did that.  Whoopie.  I followed this recipe.  I don’t know if I will love it, I haven’t used it yet, but it did get me to thinking about making my own sauces and freeze them so I can use them next time I get a hankerin’ for a recipe needing them.

So, when this cook book I found listed a few of them there sauces, I decided I would add them to my to-do list.

Basic Red Sauce (one example for use is their eggplant parmesan)

Makes about 7 Cups

  • 2 TBSP refined coconut oil
  • 1 onion, cut into 1/4 inch dice
  • 8 – 10 garlic cloves minced
  • 2 –28 oz. cans crushed tomatoes
  • 1 6-oz. can tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup fruity red wine (optional – also, I have read that you can substitute cranberry sauce)
  • 2 TBSP finely chopped fresh basil
  • 1 TBSP finely chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. hot sauce such as Tabasco (optional)
  • 1 TBSP Agave Nectar (optional)

Heat the coconut oil in 4 – 6 quart stock pot over medium-low heat.  Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, 6 – 8 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, 1 minute.  Stir in the tomatoes and tomato paste, increase the heat to high, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat, stir in wine, basil, oregano, salt, and hot sauce (if using).  Taste.  If too acidic, stir in Agave.  Store in refrigerator for up to one week or freezer for up to 2 months.

Super Simple Pizza Sauce

Makes about 1 3/4 Cups

  • 1 (14.5 oz.) can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp. fresh chopped oregano – or – 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. fine sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

In food processor, combine all ingredients and pulse to puree.  Use immediately or refrigerate for 1 week or freeze for 2 months.

So this book has a ton of recipes I plan to try, but I wont post them until after I can tell you if they are edible or not.

If you have a good sauce recipe, share.  And yes, I am talking to you, Roni, I am waiting for your spaghetti sauce recipe!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roni
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 22:02:42

    Sorry, I forgot.

    Quick Spaghetti Sauce

    2 (28 oz) cans of diced tomatoes or tomato sauce
    3 Tbsp onion powder
    1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp garlic powder
    1 cup beef broth
    2-4 Tbsp sugar
    2 Tbsp oregano
    1 tsp ground black pepper
    1/4 tsp thyme
    1 tsp basil
    1 Tbsp parsley
    1/4 tsp celery seed
    2 Tbsp salt

    Simmer approximately 30-45 minutes to desired consistency.

    Approximate Nutrition Information
    Servings: 12
    Calories: 68
    Total Fat .6g
    Cholesterol: <1 mg
    Sodium: 602 mg
    Total Carbs: 15.3 g
    Dietary Fiber: 3.6 g
    Protein: 3.1 g (huh? whatever!)

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Go Vegan or Go home « Our Piep Show
  3. Trackback: Back on the Healthy Wagon « Our Piep Show
  4. Trackback: Picture this… « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

