Insanely busy families need to eat too!

Jeez, all this running around like a chicken with my head cut off has left my family and me deserted in the supper category.  This week, we ate both McDonalds and Little Caesars, and those were the good nights.  When Bill offered to do more of the evening running so my week wouldn’t be so nuts, I read that as, “I don’t mean to complain but will you please figure out how to juggle all this AND cook supper?”  So this weekend, I sat at the computer for hours and came up with a plan.  I then went to Sam’s club and dropped $150 and then to the local grocery store and dropped another $150 and I **hope** we have what we need for a couple weeks worth of menus.  (I try to feed our family of six for $550 a month.  When I was the coupon queen, I did it for $400!  Who has time for that these days?)

So, my goals concerning our meal plans are fourfold:

  1. Food I can pull off with little effort during the week
  2. Food my kids will actually eat
  3. A monthly food budget of $550 or less
  4. Follow as closely to clean eating guidelines as I can

The product of all this is a rough draft of our downloadable weekly menu plan complete with a grocery list.  I don’t assume it is perfect, I am sure I missed a couple things, so as I work through it more, I will update.  However, some of you are asking for it now.  Of course, you will have to look at the recipes and the amounts of food each produces and based off your family needs, change up the amounts on the grocery list.  Also, if you have left over meats, shred and freeze them – I will work my left overs into following recipes. (For example, I bought a rotisserie chicken and wont use the whole thing this week.  I also bought pork tenderloin cuts in bulk from Sam’s for $1.98 a pound, so most of it went in the freezer.)

Two recipes you will need for the menu plan (introduced to me by Dr. Angie):

Chicken Craisin Salad

  • Fresh Chopped Romaine
  • Shredded Rotisserie Chicken
  • Craisins
  • Toasted Almonds
  • Feta Cheese
  • Raspberry Vinaigrette

Strawberry Jell-o (ingredients not in list)

    2 Pkg (3 oz.) strawberry Jell-o
    2 C Boiling water (use the juice from the pineapple as some of the liquid)
    1 Med Can crushed pineapple, drained
    1 Container frozen strawberries (partially thawed)
    2 Lg Bananas, mashed
    1 Carton Sour Cream
    Dissolve Jell-o in boiling liquid; add pineapple, strawberries (with any juices), and bananas.  Pour 1/2 of the mixture into serving bowl.  Chill until firm.  spread sour cream over congealed layer.  Add remaining Jell-0 mix over congealed layer.  Chill until firm.

I also will make Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins for breakfast grab –n- goes.  (The ingredients for this are not listed on the downloadable plan.)

Alrighty then, if you have requests, suggestions or feedback, feel free to let it fly.  Smile We will figure this out together!  Taxi Moms unite!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christy
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 21:22:15

    You are the best Deb. I love looking at your recipes, you’ve helped my family out more than you know:) I hope you’re feeling better!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

