Ham–one of the perfect meats (sorta)

This blog goes out to R.N. who’s family doesn’t eat pork.  I know you will just soak up all this info and do great things with is – like ignore it.

Ham is generally not all that good for you.  If you are eating clean, ham doesn’t even get to be on the radar.  According to cleaneatingonline.com,

“The only way ham could be considered clean eating is if it were a fresh ham. In other words, no deli meat and no prepackaged ham. As long as the ham is not processed and does not contain nitrates, nitrites, sugar, sodium and preservatives then it should be okay in
moderation.”   Ah, yeah.

ham | amount | 245 grams | Average nutrition facts

A little high in fat, a lot high in sodium, but a great source of protein, I do love my ham, even if I don’t eat it all that often.  When I do, I cant stop.  And then I drink a ton of stuff…and then I bloat.

Ham will be going on sale soon because of the upcoming Easter Holiday.  I like to buy a really good big ham, cook it once for ham dinner, and then cube it up and freeze it for using in many recipes.  You can freeze ham up to 6 months!  These are some of my favorite ways to use ham:

1.  Scalloped potatoes and Ham loosely from Betty Crocker

Peel and slice 8-ish medium-sized potatoes.  Cube a cup or two of ham.  Spray a casserole pan with non-stick spray.  Layer potatoes, ham, potatoes, ham.  (You also can add a layer of shredded cheese if you like.)

In a skillet, melt 4 TBSP butter.  Add 4 TBSP flour.  Whisk in 2 cups of milk.  Continue to heat until sauce thickens a little.  You can add salt and pepper to taste if you would like.

Pour sauce over potatoes/ham.  Cover with aluminum foil.  Bake at 350 for about an hour and 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

My kids eat this – in fact, they ALL eat it and that is a major feat. 

2.  Egg Bake   Curly’s favorite

Jeez, egg bake recipes are everywhere.  Search for one – ask around.  Everyone has one

3.  Ham and Potato Soup   My kids love this stuff, especially Crazy Man.

4.  Ham and Bean Soup – from Janelle, my cookie partner

In large pot, boil ham bone (or sometimes I use cubed ham if I don’t have a bone) for one hour.  Add 1 to 1 1/2 cups dry northern beans. (Beans must boil at least 2 hours.) Add 3 sliced carrots the last 45 minutes.

Dumplings: 1 1/2 Cups flour, 1/4 tsp. baking powder, 1 egg, milk to make dough stiff.

Drop dumplings in boiling soup for the last 10 minutes.  My kids will eat this, but it is not a favorite of some.

5.  Hot Baked Cheese Dip – I have never made this, but it looks good – great, actually.  And so very NOT healthy.

What do you do with ham?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 20:04:56

    I’m not a big fan of ham, but we do:
    – scalloped potatoes and ham – http://lovetwocook.blogspot.com/2011/03/easy-scalloped-potatoes-and-ham.html

    – my grandma’s AMAZING egg bake

    – omelets

    Reply

  2. Rachelle
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 08:10:56

    That baked cheese dip does sound really good. Could make it less fat by using a reduced fat cheese, cream cheese and sour cream. 🙂

    I like anything cheesy with ham. I also like ham & bean soup. My husband would like split pea & ham, but yuck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

