Bankrupting Parents

Found this list of 15 American places every kid should see before they grow up and ensuing discussion on the Disboards, where I daily lurk.  Yep, I am one of those people.

1. Walt Disney World
2. Yosemite National Park
3. Statue of Liberty, New York City
4. Colonial Williamsburg/Jamestown
5. Yellowstone National Park
6. Lincoln Memorial, National Mall D.C.
7. Atlantis, Nassau Island (Bahamas – not in America, but so close to the coast of Florida that I included it)
8. Grand Canyon
9. Niagara Falls
10. Golden Gate Bridge/Fisherman’s Wharf, San Francisco
11. Glacier Bay, Alaska
12. Kennedy Space Center, Orlando
13. Smokey Mountains, Tennessee
14. Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
15. Alamo/Spanish Missions, San Antonio

Ok, really?  And then they can see mom and dad declare bankruptcy.  Kids are entitled to see none of it, really.  I didn’t and I lived to tell about it.

The source of this picture is unknown, but tons of blogs have used it and no given credit, so when I Bing the word “money” and this pops up all over and the only sources are other blogs, I just cant justify putting a link to one of them.  Someone came up with this image and everyone stole it.  And now I cant credit the original image producer, so sorry, I try not to steal images.

These are the places I think kids should see before growing up:

  1. Their grandparent’s home.  It is good to know your roots.
  2. Their state capitol.  Because it is important stuff, whether you agree with it or not.
  3. Their backyard.  Because kids should play outside way more than they do.  And use their imaginations.
  4. Church, on a regular basis.  Because faith is vital.
  5. The kitchen.  They should know how to cook a little and clean a lot.
  6. The laundry room.  Because clean clothes don’t just happen.
  7. A farm. Because all our food comes from somewhere.
  8. A campground.  Camping is awesome, period, and is a great family activity.  Every kid should get to sleep in a tent and make a s’more at least once.
  9. A showing of fine arts – art museum, play production, musical – life is way more than video games.
  10. A baseball game.  Hotdogs and Coke = perfection.

Ok, now I will go read what everyone else replied to this thread and see if I am way off.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. racheljthomas
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 15:46:13

    Oh, goodness! So funny. I’m liking your #6 a LOT. I might would add # 11: The dentist. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kari
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 16:24:34

    Can mine see everything on both lists? Because that’d be super. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Stephanie Engen Walseth
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 19:37:12

    LOVE IT Deb!!! Very true!

    Reply

  4. Roni
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 20:32:42

    I totally agree with you! My family has been blessed to visit a few of the “supposed” to see places. They weren’t life changing experiences. I take that back. Disney World was life changing. We realized that the “dream” vacation ended in a spiritual environment that reeked of selfishness, greed and………….. Other than the fact that my girls got to take a picture with Belle, and they all got to act in her play I would say it was a total waste of time. I can’t say money because my friend got us all in for free. We were so glad we hadn’t paid for the experience. Okay, one more positive – it is really interesting to hear so many languages spoken in such a close proximity.

    Now your 2nd last gets a great big AMEN! I’m not a fan of camping, but we have been considering it as a worthwhile adventure for our crew.

    You’re Awesome!!!

    Reply

  5. Roni
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 20:33:39

    Oops! 2nd list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

