Gettin’ My Groove On

Music moves me.  So many different song move me at different time in different situations.  My Zune is full of various artists, from Guns and Roses to Hillsong.  Yup, I listen to the really holy stuff sometimes, and then I turn around and throw a little Sweet Child O’ Mine in the mix.  I could never pick a favorite, nor could I pick one single song that inspires me.  Inspires me to do what?  So many options…

The Best of Pieper Song Awards

1. Best Song to Dance To While Mopping the Floor or Scrubbing Toilets (because you can pretend you are all sexy in your bleach shirts and ripped sweatpants.)

Poker Face, Lady Gaga  (Yeah, what can I say, other than I figured out I can polka to it one day while I was murphy oil soaping our kitchen, cant beat that!)

2.  Best Song to Listen to While on the Elliptical in the early morning before the brain is ready for exercise

Glorious Day, Casting Crowns  (This song moves me, seriously – I go to another place when I listen to it, which is good because the last place I want to be at 6:15 AM is anywhere other than bed, but most of all, anywhere exercisical.)

3.  Best Song to Listen to in the Summer

Summer of ‘69 – Bryan Adams  (Also good for working out, hmmm, I mostly work out in the summer, go figure.)

4.  Best Song to Listen to When Thinking about High School in a Goofy Way

Pump up the Jam, Technotronics  (Are your feet thumpin’?)

5.  Best Song to Listen to while Thinking of all Guys I ever Dated Other Than Bill

Over You, Daughtry    Smile  (Man, I do love that song, I had to get it on my list somehow.)

6.  Best Song to Listen to When Thinking of Bill and I Wanna Chuckle

John Deere Green, Joe Diffie   (Yes, giggling while typing this one!  I don’t know why, but we laugh all the time when we listen to this one.  Yeah, I do know why, but ya know…)

7.  Best Song to Listen to With my Girls

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun, Cyndi Lauper (DUH!  Although the girls for some reason think Miley Cyrus’s version is better – I think not!  Man, this song makes me bust a couple moves.)

8.  Best Song to Listen to With JP

Livin’ on a Prayer, Bon Jovi (He was originally shocked that I knew the words, hello?  Now we scream it out together.  It aint pretty, but we sure have fun!  This is the song that was playing when my big brother introduced me to driving at 90 MPH down the road.  Good stuff.)

9.  Best Song to listen to Crazy Man Drum To

Born Again, Newsboys (He goes crazy on the cymbals on this one, he doesn’t know I notice.  I love listening to him drum.  He is so in his element when drumming with music blasting.  Makes my mom heart happy.)

10.  My favorite song of all times, hands down is Great is Thy Faithfulness.  The lyrics from verse 1 pretty much sum up my thoughts on God.

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

11.  Bonus:  My favorite song to play on piano:

It Is Well With My Soul, Horatio Spafford

My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more…

Holy Crap, that is powerful stuff!!! 

I just may need to add on to this list as I have more time to think about songs I listen to the most…and why.

Post image for Writing Prompts

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 07:12:25

    These are great songs!!! I can rock out (while cleaning or driving or anything) to a little Bon Jovi. All time fav!

    Reply

  2. debpieper
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 07:15:25

    Yep, he is a good one. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tori Nelson
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 09:07:44

    Haha! Love the Lady Gaga for those blah, cleaning days. I might have to try that one!

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s,
    Tori

    Reply

  4. Ginny Marie
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 16:06:59

    This is a great list! Listening to music definitely helps those household chores go a little faster. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jessica
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 18:29:23

    It’s funny how different activities require different types of music. I think Guns n Roses are great to listen to when cleaning the house.

    Reply

  6. Frelle
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 15:07:52

    Love your choices, my ipod is just as random as yours too.. and with many of the same songs!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

