Fat Tuesday leads to Withdrawal Wednesday

We are protestant, so we don’t “do” lent, but I decided that it was a good time to give up something since so many of my bad-influence co-workers would be doing the same.  Guess again, it seems that I am the only one making a commitment to change.  Yes, I am talking to you slacker wimps I work with.  Hiding Diet Coke, fibbing about it – you know that you get in a lot less trouble if you just tell the truth.  And the truth is ugly in this case.  Go ahead and make your excuses.  Whatever.

Source

 

I re-committed to the clean eating and exercise.  Why?  I browsed the swim suits yesterday.  I want to buy a cute one.  In a different size.  Like this one. 

Cia.Maritima Swimwear 2010 - On Sale Source

 That is probably not the Godly answer lent would require, huh?  Ok, so I will go with this reason:  

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body,” (1 Cor. 6:19-20).

Yep, treating this temple better.  And today, I feel pretty good about how I did.  No cheating, even though some wonderful family brought Monster Cookies into the lounge for staff.  Monster Cookies are one of my favorites.  Seriously.  I love them so much, it hurt me to avoid them. Source

It was as though Satan was tempting me.  To which I said:

“No temptation has seized me except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let me be tempted beyond what I can bear. But when I am tempted, he will also provide a way out so that I can stand up under it.”  (I Cor 10:13)

Yeah, so take that, Monster Cookies – I walked away with my orange and celery.  Take that all the way to the bank.

Leave a Reply

