In the meantime

Source

The guys are all gone to winter camp.  The two little ladies are sleeping off their birthday party sugar hangover.

It is just me.

I put naughty Lucy in her kennel.  (She seems to think the whole neighborhood is her yard now.  She needs Bill to be home more.  He lays down the law.  He is the alpha of this pack and he has been gone so much, I think Lucy is trying out for the role.  Epic fail, dog.)

What’s to do when the house is silent except for the hum of the furnace and the ticking of the clock?  It is frigid cold outside and I am cuddled up in a blanket and comfy fleece pants. Sitting in the absence of crazy.  What could be better?  In what other setting could God speak to me when I am willing and have made myself available to sit and listen? 

So here is your invite, God.  Do you often get invited by a blog entry?  I am most open when I am writing, so impress something powerful on my heart or give me a revelation of something, or if you want to get crazy, elevate me – that would be cool.

And so I sit, eyes closed.  And what comes to mind?  Seriously, this verse does:

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

I have very few moments of earthy peace in my daily life.   This is a good reminder when the cabin fever is running in high gear and I am antsy, crabby, stir-crazy, unsatisfied.  I may run in many directions, but nothing seems fulfilling.  In the big scheme of things, I often wonder if God has something bigger for me, and if what I am doing daily now is just a place holder.  Waiting for timing?  Waiting for circumstances to change?  Waiting for answers.   This time of year, I find myself planning.  I will plan anything just so I have something concrete in my future.  I am not always the best at waiting and letting the future be under someone else’s control.  Even God’s. 

But today, I will choose to be at peace.

Why ruin this tranquil, serene time by loading dishes or starting laundry?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristi
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 10:42:14

    Thank you sooo much for stopping by my blog. The best part of it is that now I know where YOU are! 🙂 I love your writing style and what you have to share.
    I didn’t make it to church this morning…snow kept us home….yet after reading this post I feel as if I just had my own Sunday inspiration. I, too, often talk to God through writing.
    In answer to your question on my blog….no, I didn’t get any pictures of the “snow room”. I don’t think my brain was turned in that direction that night! Also, even if there WAS said picture I wouldn’t know how to load it on my blog!! As you can tell when you can look at my site, picture loading is not a skill I have mastered yet! That’s on my “to learn” list for this week. Just started blogging this month and haven’t even told family and friends about it yet. Want to make it a bit more “me” yet.
    Sorry for this leeeennnnggthy post…probably not good blog etiquette. 🙂 I did want to tell you that I appreciate you stopping by….and you are going on my list of blogs I follow. :))
    Take care and have a blessed Sunday.
    ~Kristi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

