90 Days Fitness Craze

February 21st.  That is today’s date.  I feel slumpy, lazy, and my digesting system is not happy.  I am over-sugared, under watered, and ready to kick it to the curb.

I am doing a 90 days fitness craze.  Meaning what?  Eating clean every single day (with exception of special occasions) and exercising every day.  No minimum on the exercise for starters, just gotta do something every day, ramping up to the 5K I am going to run on Friday, May 20th.

May 22nd is 90 days from today.  Can I do it?  Stay tuned – I will blog once a week on my progress and stick-to-it-ness, because if there is one thing I am not good at, it is sticking to something so torturous.  I know I will feel better once my diet is back on track, but getting there is )@#*$(@#$(@&#$(&@#!!!!!!  Right now, I really want some cookies.  Chocolate Chip cookies.  Warm. 

Who’s joinin’ me???? 


On that note, my girls requested Grandma’s Green Ice Cream Cake for their un-birthday party this weekend.  TORTURE for the mom who can’t eat the sugar and is having serious cravings on Day 1 of this journey.  (It is day 3 of no caffeine and so far so good!)

Here is how I walked through the delicious jungle of temptation and came out victorious:

This recipe is one of my favorites.  I don’t like Dairy Queen cakes because they have way too much vanilla ice cream.  In fact, that white ice cream doesn’t even taste like vanilla – I think it taste like nothing.  Waste of my time and calorie intake.  I generally eat the chocolate part and give the rest to Bill.  This dessert fixes that problem, actually it one-ups DQ cakes big time!

Open Oreo package without sampling one – you know they are good, no need to sample.  Crush them up – this is a fun endeavor, a chance to get the meat tenderizing hammer out and work out your salvation with fear and trembling. 

20110221_175902_8040

Mix the beloved Oreos with two sticks of melted butter or margarine.  Yep, I could pretty much bathe in this!  Can they make a facial out of it?  Oreos have healing power.

20110221_180719_8041

Press this mixture into a 9 X 13 pan. 

20110221_180944_8042

Cover with 1/2 gallon of softened Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream.   (I actually used more like 3/4 of a gallon.)  Freeze.

20110221_181546_8043

In saucepan, mix 2 cups sugar, 2 cups evaporated milk, 4 squares unsweetened chocolate and 1 cup butter or margarine.  Cook 15 – 20 minutes until partially thick.  Go ahead and sniff it, but you can’t taste it.  Let it cool.

20110221_202806_8048

Ok, this stuff smells so good, you have to remember what is in it to keep yourself on track with the making but not eating goal.  Just look at this picture.  NO!!!!  Back away from the lard!!

20110221_194806_8047

Spread over ice cream and freeze. (Note my UMD shirt from 1993 – yep, Missi, I still have it!)  While this stuff froze tonight, I shredded – yep, you heard me right – exercised. 

20110221_204837_8050 20110221_204838_8051 20110221_204839_8052

Spread 2 cups of whipped cream (in my house we call this Cool Whip) on top of the fudge layer.  I love Cool Whip – again, I could sit with a carton and a spoon and have the time of my life, but I didn’t even lick the spatula.  Sad smile  See, me sad.

20110221_221512_8056

I guess I needed a deeper pan, better stick with 1/2 gallon next time.

Freeze.  Garnish with shaved chocolate.  I will do that the day of their par-tae! 

And yes people, I did it – made it without snacking along the way.  Serving it without helping myself will sure be hard!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 22:20:47

    Mmmmm that looks so yummy. My Grandma makes an ice cream dessert where she covers the bottom of the pan with ice cream sandwiches. Then she puts caramel, whipped cream(? I think), and heath bar bits on top of that. Add another layer of everything and freeze. It’s SO yummy.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: A Very Merry Un-birthday to me! To you! « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

