This little light of mine

Mama's Losin' It

So the writer’s workshop prompts this week got me to thinking.  I couldn’t just pick one ~ nope, I gotta kill two birds with one stone on this one.  They mesh too much to pull them apart.  Like sticky buns.  Like hair after spraying with Helmet Head.  Like my girls and an episode of Full House.

Last night was date night for Mr. and Mrs. Pieper.  Remember, the marriage ministry that the local church provides for our family unbeknownst to them?  We drop the kids off for Wednesday night church and the two of us head off for some luxurious date, like go to Wal-mart (or if we are feeling like living large, Sam’s Club), or a walk, or if we are throwing all caution to the wind, dinner? 

So last night’s date was a most memorable one.  I dropped the kids off at church, and then I sauntered back to the Yukon, not knowing what I should do.  I found myself driving through the Arby’s drive through.  Then I got all nostalgic and drove past our old house.  Yep, it is still there.  After wandering the hood a little, I drove back to the church parking lot and sat there eating my roast beef sandwich and curly fries while reading a biblical smutty book.   It was a little chilly, but I sat in that dark parking lot with my reading light illuminating my book for an entire hour.  This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.  

And that is how I did date night without my hubby…it just plain old…boring.  It is not good for woman to be alone.  That is Genesis 2:18, loosely.

Remember I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions…but I am working on a eating life style change.  So on that note…Arby’s with a coke.  Yep, the first step to overcoming an addiction is by admitting you have one.  I have been drinking a lot of coke.   A LOT.  (No Mt dew, though, ‘cause I overcame that addiction.) I also have been eating horrible food.  Processed food.  Unhealthy food.  Food in too large of serving portions.  I can tell.  My body is in revolt.  It has pretty much shut down all digesting processes and is on strike.  I look like I have gained a bunch of weight, but I haven’t.  I am just bloated.  And my skin is yucky.  And I have no energy.  I feel like, well, Grimace.

I feel it appropriate to tell you that this image is from gagworks.com

Bill comes home this weekend, and we go all hard core healthy on Monday.  (I need to start things on a Monday because then I have a fresh start.)  Because we both plan to run the 5K (me) and the 1/2 marathon (him) this spring, we gotta get this party started.  Or else, I might puke up some McDonalds while running and that wouldn’t be pretty.  Back on the clean eating band wagon.  I found recipe #1.  Looks yummy!!

So just like that, I took on #4 and #5 all at once. 

4.) A memorable date.
5.) How’s that New Years Resolution treating you?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 13:02:00

    I know the feeling about eating horribly. I am thinking I have seen the guy at the Mc D’s drivethrough more this week than my husband.

    Good luck with the 5k, maybe I will jump on your bandwagon and work on doing one too 🙂 Sounds like a good idea!

    Visiting from Mama Kats.

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:37:24

      Do it!! I am not a runner, but I dont want to be shown up by my kids, so just once, I am going to try it.

      Reply

  2. JDaniel4's Mom
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:17:06

    It must be wonderful to have a built in date night.

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:36:53

      It is a huge blessing when we spend the other four weeknights chasing around with the kids’ activities.

      Reply

  3. Larisa
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 18:20:46

    So who are you doing the 5k with? I’ve gotta get back into running again…help keep my accountable please!! 🙂

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 18:33:26

      at this point, me, myself, and I. I plan to start on the elliptical monday and work my way up again…when it gets warmer, I will get a hold of you and we can do some runs together 🙂

      Reply

  4. Nicole@Moments that Define Life
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 07:29:47

    Sometimes, it’s the little things that bring us the break we need – an Arby’s roast beef and a smutty book – that was yours for the night. I take the hour my daughter is in theatre class to read and drink coffee at the Starbucks near her school – it’s a nice reprieve from everything. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my place in the blog world! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Mariposa
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 08:03:14

    That’s great that you are training for a 5k! That is one of my near future life goals. I’ve had to take a break from training while pregnant though… I’m looking forward to getting back to it. Maybe in the Fall? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

