Positive

“It is positive,”  said the nurse.

I already knew that because there is something incredible about a mom’s instinct.  Hearing it officially was a moment I will never forget.


Getting pregnant was not easy for us.  As much as Dad enjoyed the “trying” part, we both were weighted with anguish when it just wasn’t happening for us.  We knew the “why” and we had been warned it would be difficult for us, but the actual experiencing part of the whole situation was heart wrenching. 

I was empty and exhausted.  I had lifted this request in prayer many times myself.   “Either take away this desire, or step in and and take over this process.”   At the point of our rock bottom, my entire family gathered around me with raw emotion and prayed for a miracle.  Prayed God would give us the desires of our heart.  Petitioned.  Trusted. 

Within two months, I walked into the student health center expecting, presuming, knowing the results would be positive.   I walked out being the only student in the history of pregnant college students thrilled with an affirmative “YES!”  I am pretty sure my feet weren’t on the ground as I floated to our car.  I was intoxicated by the knowledge that you existed, grateful that God had given you to us and used the experiences along the way as a reason to put down our own roots in our faith.

What you need to know, first born of my children, is that God is interested in you.  He has been interested in you since long before you were conceived.  The triplets are miracles because of the circumstances of their birth, and you are too.  God handed you to us on a silver platter as a way of teaching us that He has this all under control when we choose to let go of our own need to be independent and let Him take over.   You are my child that I consider to be a manifestation of the work of God.   You are my daily reminder that He is interested in my life.   And, he has expectations for your life.

I knew the healing in my heart had started when I heard, “It is positive.”

20101231_155603_7257

(Blog entry inspired by the reddressclub.blogspot.com)

(Jeremiah 17:7-8 NKJV) “Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, And whose hope is the LORD.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 18:11:05

    This blog entry made me tear up. 🙂 I often have to remind myself that I need to leave the timing up to God. It’s so hard to be patient. I’m definitely at that rock bottom point. At least I hope I am, because I don’t want it to feel worse.

    Reply

  2. Lynnsey
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 18:50:59

    Oh Deb….what a beautiful entry. You were destined to be a mom and you inspire your fellow mom friends with your loving heart. I feel blessed to have a friend like you. Thanks for another great post 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kellie
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 21:08:03

    Deb~ What an amazing entry…I always love reading what you write. You are such a wonderful mom and those children are so lucky to have you as their mom!! And a cool mom you are! 🙂 Love ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

