A little history lesson concerning Mr. and Mrs. Pieper

The writing prompt this week got me to thinking.  Yes, yes, we sure should have written up a pre-nup when we decided to tie the knot.  What were we thinking?  Being barely 20, the odds were against us.   No one who gets married that young stays married these days.  We were too young to know what we were doing.  The reality was that Bill’s mom had to co-sign for my engagement ring.  Yep, we were babies.  We had no alcohol at our wedding either, but that wasn’t a biggie, back then we didn’t drink.  We didn’t learn that skill until we had 4 children in 2 years.

Ok, but we sure should have had a pre-nup.  All good strong marriages have a pre-nup.  Everyone needs a get-out-with-the-least-amount-of-damage-possible clause, right?  Like we were stupid enough to believe the vows we took were serious.  Like forever.  No one was listening when we said those words in front of God and our closest friends and family, right?  Jeeez…

Bill-Deb-Wedding

So, I decided to get serious about this marriage thing now.  I know a lawyer who will sign off on this.

I.  We, being of sound mind (yet young and naive) agree to be legally bound by this legal agreement. 

a.  Due to the underage positions of us, our parents will co-sign.

II.  The female, Debbie (that’s what I was going by back then), agrees to allow the male, Billy (well, he had almost outgrown that name at that point), to keep his prize possession: the 486/33 Mhz computer he built, complete with the 8 MB Ram and 28.8 modem.   She will take from him the recipe binder that his mom made him for college. 

III.  The male, as named above, agrees to allow the female, as named above to keep her prize possession:  her spider plant.  He is allowed to take one baby spider plant to start on his own.

IIII.  At this point in time, there are no other assets.  Future assets, including the awesome rattan furniture set that the couple will pirate off a garage sale, and everything else they will own (which will come by means of wedding gifts) will be given to the four children they will have 4 years from now.  Lucky kids.

2000-04-29_0911_284

IV.  The End.

Really, we had nothing.  NOTHING.  We moved here with 2 cars.  Everything we owned fit in our cars.  And my car had 5 big plants in it – so really, NOTHNG is almost a stretch.  We almost had less than that.  Try splitting up what we have now.  It is impossible.  What we have cant be split.  How do you split this?  Everything we have, we built together, so it is unable to come apart.  We like it this way.  There is no way out.

20100621_095013_2097

Mama's Losin' It

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 07:18:23

    4 kids in 2 year?! I commend you!! We also got married very young and had NOTHING so we didn’t have a prenup, but I can see why they are important if you have “stuff.” Although the most important things in a marriage (kids, love) can’t be split, as you said. Hmm… who knows. I suppppose I will just stay married forever 😉

    Reply

  2. happylifehappywife
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 07:41:37

    I love this post 🙂 Very nicely said!

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 12:54:02

    This made me cry. Its so nicely said. Thanks.

    Reply

  4. D
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 16:58:52

    Love your post.. Beautiful family.. I agree, marriage is forever! 🙂

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 18:24:45

      Thank-you for the compliment! It is sure nice to hear other people feel the same way about marriage.

      Reply

  5. hillary
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 21:58:44

    Holy heck! That is a lot of kids in such a short amount of time! I bet you really learned to enjoy that martini!

    Awesome post–found you via Mama Kat 🙂

    Reply

  6. Christine
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 01:32:17

    This is an awesome post…super sweet! Love your writing and enjoyed reading about your marriage/family…I need to explore your blog more to find out about 4 kids in 2 years! yikes! I have 4 kids too, and I definitely drink more now than I did when I was childless, lol!

    Reply

  7. andy peterson
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 23:12:54

    Deb,

    I love you and your family. And I love that technology makes it possible for me to subscribe to a daily dose of sarcasim, wit, wisdom and home grown midwestern family values from my friend Deb. In other words I think your blog is awesome.

    Andy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

