I have a ND dream…

I am not unmindful that some of you have come here out of great trials and tribulations.  Some of you are forced to come to ND in January for work or family business. Some of you have come fresh from warmer climates.   And some of you have come from areas where your quest left you battered by the storms of ice in Atlanta and staggered by the winds of Christmas in New York. You have been the veterans of creative suffering, while we here went on with daily life.  Once the calendar reads June,  come back from Disney World, come back from California, come back from Beaches Resorts, come back from Jamaica, come back from Hawaii,  knowing that somehow this situation can and will be changed, because spring will come. 

Let us not wallow in the Red River Valley of despair, I say to you today, my friends.

And so even though we face the difficulties of today when we suffer through another Winter Weather Advisory, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream.

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “Global warming:  Not just for the summer months.”

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where plane tickets to warmer places will be cheaper.  I have a dream today.

I have a dream that one day, here in the frozen upper Midwest, with it’s vicious winters, with it’s local government’s hands being tied by federal dollars – one day, right here where I love to live, my little glow-in-the-dark, winter-white boys and girls (and children with every other tone of skin) will again be free to play outside without 50 pounds of clothing and gear to keep them safe.

I have a dream that one day near the Red River of Fargo, the sons of former Norwegians and the sons of former Germans and yep, sons of African Refugees, heck, all sons and daughters will be able to sit down together at the picnic table of Lindenwood Park. 

I have a dream that one day even the non-state of Washington D.C.  a non-state sweltering with the heat of June, sweltering with the heat of July, will be transformed into an oasis of warmth for vacationers.  (I am thinking March, with the blossoms.)

I have a dream that one day every valley shall have a flood plan that doesn’t include 6 million sandbags, and every snow hill and pile shall be made low, the rough places will still be rough, after all, this is the Dakotas, and the crooked places (oxbows) will be made straight; “and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed and all flesh shall see it together.”2

This is my hope and my faith that I head south on my upcoming cruise with.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicolle D
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 21:21:45

    this is great! I think you should send it to the Forum’s letter to the editor!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

