Tuesday thoughts

First of all, I went jeans shopping today.  It is never fun.  Adoringly, I look at the size 0’s and wish they would have had that size  when I could have worn them.  But then I grew up and out and the only 0 that has graced my butt had a 1 in front of it.  Oh well.  I tried on about 15 pair of jeans today and ended up with two pair.  Not too bad.  I bought my first size EXTRA short.  Love it!! I don’t have to have either of the pair tailored and I am so excited about it.  Usually, I try on a short and still have to hack off about 4 inches.  EXTRA short, baby!!!  That is what I am talking about – genius move, Maurices!  They also had a bunch of “take an extra 75% off” racks of shirts, and nothing gets me more excited than new clothes for almost free.  YIPPY!  Good thing I was running out of time or I woulda bought a ton more stuff!! 

20110111_225242_7671

Second, tonight was DARE graduation for our three 5th graders.  Sad that any police department has to invest into a drug prevention program.  DARE?  Don’t dare Crazy Man to do or don’t do anything.  Yikes.  If my kids think they will even touch that stuff, holy mackerel, I don’t know even how I would react.  I think I can handle a whole lot of stuff, but drugs, oooof.   It would be ugly for them.  Let this be my proclamation: I do declare, Pieper children, that if you ever do anything so STUPID, you will never leave your rooms and all meals will be slid under your door for the rest of eternity.  DARE me. 

20110111_194617_7581  20110111_194623_7583  20110111_194906_7614  20110111_201846_7627

And lastly, I find myself para-ing my hubby sometimes.  Like last week during the sermon at church.  He has a way of slumping in his chair and looking like he is sleeping (maybe even actually sleeping sometimes.) He also bites his nails, a horrid habit that has been passed on generation to generation.  So here was me during church, “Bill, sit up.  A good listener has his eyes on the speaker, look at the person who is talking.  Don’t put your fingers in your mouth.”  Yeah, you cant always leave work at work.  I try.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missi
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 23:40:27

    I made my first ever trip into The Buckle tonight. I found the jeans I was looking for, and they weren’t $100, so SCORE! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rachelle
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 11:14:20

    Maurices has extra-short? That is the best news I have heard all day!! I hate it that I have to cut (or tailor) petite pants or “short” length pants. My daughter who is 5 inches taller than me even has to wear “short” pants. I think my inseam is 26 inches, so the 29-30 inch inseam that is “short” is laughable.

    Thanks for the laugh & the message on where to buy my next pair of jeans. Just wish I could wear the 3/4 extra short that you showed in the picture. 🙂

    Reply

    • Missi
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 13:29:00

      I want to stand next to you and Deb in a picture! I would feel like a giant with my 31″ inseam!!!

      Reply

      • debpieper
        Jan 12, 2011 @ 15:14:18

        You, my beloved Missi, are a giant!!
        The brand is Vigoss. Also from Maurices. Given them a try, I was told they are new to the store?

      • Rachelle
        Jan 12, 2011 @ 16:47:14

        Well, I have not grown any since the 7th grade & so I stand at a whopping 4’11”. Yup, not even 5′ tall. So yes, you & even Deb would be a giant to me. 🙂

    • debpieper
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 15:15:30

      I hear ya. I know I am short, but it is my legs that make me extra short. I cant wear petite shirts…normal there. just the non-existant legs.

      Reply

      • Rachelle
        Jan 12, 2011 @ 16:49:23

        I bought “capri pants” at Fashion Bug & they fit perfectly. I bought “walking shorts” and they were perfect capris. And so the story goes…

  3. debpieper
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 21:09:24

    Hey – at Old Navy, they have what I assume are walking shorts…I tried on the small and they hit a great capri length – go look – they are comfy and come in a bunch of great colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

