Who gets the auto start? Please chime in.

This is just a hypothetical situation.  (cough cough)

Say you and your hubby decide to get a new-to-you vehicle. 

Here is a snippet of a possible conversation that could possibly occur as you discuss what you would like to see in your new vehicle.

Hubby:  So, what all do you think we need to look for, Sweetie Pie?

You:  Oh, Honey, I think I would like leather seats.

Hubby:  Really, shmookums, leather is important to you?  Why?

You:  Because I am hauling 4+ little pigs, and sometimes they climb in all wet from swimming and although we previously had leather and I let it go, I miss it and I would like it back.  PS.  I also want butt burners.

Hubby:  Seriously, you want butt burners?  (For those of you who don’t follow this, butt burners = heated seats.)

You:  Yes, it gets freaky cold here.  I am getting wimpier, and I want my butt to be warm in that leather.

Push button to keep liquid blood flowing in gluteus maximus.   Frozen butts are the worst!

Hubby:  Oh.  (probably eye rolling.)

You:  I also require auto start.

Hubby:  (for sure eye rolling) What in the bleepin’ bleep world do you need auto start for?  You have a garage and only drive 1/2 mile to work every day!!!!  @)*#*$&@)(*$@#)*$

You:  (calm as always) Yes, it gets freaky cold here.  I am getting wimpier, and I want to get into a warm vehicle when I am shopping or dining out, or all that other classy girl stuff I do, like when I get a fresh pedi or go tanning in the middle of the winter…

20101220_125059_6506 This is how we have to bundle up for recess duty, it gets cold I tell ya!  Frozen!

Hubby:  One more thing to break, one more thing to fix, one more thing we don’t need.  We have never had it, never need to, we wont go looking for auto start!!!!!!

You:  (in sweet innocent voice)  It is important to me, so I think we need to find it already in the vehicle, or next time you to go to India, I will have it installed.  Remember that one time I taught the dog to shake and whisper while you were gone because neither were tricks you wanted her to learn?  Remember what I can do with 2 weeks alone?

20101218_110152_6388 Both Lucy and I look innocent, but together, we are dangerous!!

Hubby:  I don’t think we have any need for auto start.  I put my foot down.  I am the boss around here!

——-  Flash forward ——

Together, you find a Yukon that fits your budget and your family’s needs.  It is decided that for the most part, hubby will drive it (or his truck until you decide when/if you sell the truck.)  You will continue to drive the van since you do the most kid taxiing and the van gets the best gas mileage. 

It has seat memory, and you find out on night two that you are #2 driver, obviously making hubby #1 driver.  When you put your key in, the seat automatically moves to your preferred settings.  Cool, when it works right.  Time will tell.  What this also means is that it is best if you always use the assigned key. 

Now comes the bad news.  #1 Driver gets auto start.  Yep, you heard me right.  Hubby has claimed the auto start.  Driver #2 gets squat.

Your part:  Should the one who wanted auto start get the auto start?  Should the person who is #1 get it?  Even if the new-to-you vehicle sits in the garage for the most part?  What is the right this for the hubby who didn’t want auto start to do in this situation?

Just askin’ in case it every happens.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 21:59:53

    I’d say that the one who requested auto start should get first dibs on it. We had it put in on the Windstar, unfortunately it quit working properly and we knew we were trading it off. I miss my auto start, thinking I’m asking for it next year for Christmas(I like bun warmers too…my parent’s van has them). Good luck on the auto start debate! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tammi Hoeger
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 15:41:47

    I definitely think the lady should have the auto start! I love auto start and butt warmers. I do not enjoy cold. I will go to the mat for you on this one, Deb. You can always tell your hubby that he would never look sexier than when he is handing over the auto start.

    PS- Not digging the picture 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Dude, I drank fruit juice while in my suit on my cruise… « Our Piep Show
  4. Trackback: If he was me and me was he–part 2 « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

