Casting

1 Pet 5:7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

I am so glad I work with young kids. The interactions with the most innocent of us on a daily basis is enough to make me love my job on the worst of the worst of days.  I love how they say it like it is, how they believe in the magic of life, how they are not afraid to tell classmates that Jesus made them, how they think school staff members sit on pedestals, how hugs can take them so far, how encouragement feeds their souls, how their eyes twinkle when they grasp something new.  It all boils down to the fact that kids are fantastic.

Children are bottomless pits when it comes to their insatiable appetite for encouragement and for the basic right to have someone believe in them.  I will go as far as to say many children get the support and love that each of us needs from home, but I wont push it as far as to say that most children do.  The kids who need more from me are my favorites.

I am blessed because I work with children with special needs.  I love the way God made each of us perfectly.  I love how our giftings vary so we can fill different niches in life.  The warm tender hearts of these children are amazing.  I learn so much from them every day.  I learn to see the world differently.  I learn to look at situations through different eyes.  I learn to keep going, even when the road is really difficult.

I am so blessed to be face-to-face with these kids who some day will be overcomers.  Victorious, these children will be.  Their stories will be amazing and inspirational to others because of their humble beginnings.  No one hands these kids anything, they fight for every rung of success.  They amaze me.

So, when I hear of specific needs of these kids, my heart gets so heavy.  I have become quite good at casting my personal cares on God, but my concerns and anxieties concerning others are much harder for me to give over to Him.  I want to fix everything, I want to make everything smooth for their walk.  And I can’t.  No one can.  These obstacles are part of each journey.  These obstacles make each child into a strong conqueror. 

I am working on my casting skills.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 21:35:35

    The kids you work with are so blessed to have you in their lives(as well as the other staff to)! I know a certain high fiving kid that looks up to you(although he’s getting taller) and the rest of the staff as well(except maybe one of the second grade teacher’s because I think he’s about her height 😉 ). Thank you so much for all that you do for the kids you work with, you make a huge difference in their lives!! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

