Slacktivism

So, on Facebook, the big push this week is to “change your profile picture to a cartoon from your childhood. The goal? To not see a human face on Facebook until Monday, Dec. 6th. Join the fight against child abuse! Copy & paste to your status to invite your friends to do the same!” 

Sounds great…I didn’t do it.  Why?  Because my profile pic is a snowflake.  So no human face is involved to begin with.  I also did not tell you where I keep my purse, and I am pretty sure I didn’t tell you what color bra I wear.  Does that make me look cold-hearted? 

I love to read peoples’ takes on these things, cheap entertainment.  Bing it, google it, whichever you prefer. 

Gauker.com

Fake CNN

These are two funny ones.

Don’t get me wrong, I am a HUGE supporter of all that is anti-child abuse.   If you know me at all, you know that I am a huge activist for kids.  I am not sure what the answer is to prevent child abuse.  How do you ever know in advance it is about to happen?  How do you always know it is happening?  AUGH!  Blasted!  If it was up to me, I would simply make it impossible for repeat offences.  That would be a start. 

Anyways, changing my picture sure isn’t going to do anything to help the cause.  I am fully aware of the issue, so it wont change my awareness level.  I am just trying not to be a slacktivist.  (Slacktivist is NOT a valid scrabble word.)  If I really support a cause, I need to get off my computer and do something about it, which in this case, I have.  Challenge yourself to get your hands dirty in supporting the causes you truly buy into.

Enjoy my precious snowflake – just like snowflakes, we are all different and beautiful and together can make life-altering events.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missi
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 14:59:17

    Well, here’s another take. Some people probably changed their profile pic because cartoons are fun, and seeing all the different ones brought back childhood memories. I’m not afraid to say I changed mine, but I didn’t post the little blurb about how it was done to stop child abuse… cuz pretty sure it didn’t save a child because I changed my pic to Mighty Mouse. But it did make me smile to see so many old cartoon characters that I had mostly forgotten about!

    Reply

  2. debpieper
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 16:06:13

    I wasn’t allowed to watch cartoons as a child, they were all of the devil, so my first cartoon memory would be Bevis and Butthead, should I change mine? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Missi
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 16:13:05

    Well… it would give ME a chuckle… 🙂

    Reply

  4. debpieper
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 16:57:11

    Sorry, it is Beavis, my bad. I spelled it wrong because every time we drive through Nevis, I say, “Nevis, rhymes with Beavis” and then I try to do the B&B laugh. I changed my photo for you, beloved Missi.
    So all that snowflake crap no longer pertains to my profile.

    Reply

  5. Missi
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 17:07:16

    Every time we drive through Nevis, we recall that the boys always called it “Nevis and Nuthead”. 🙂

    I am so honored that you changed your profile pic… just for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

