Cookie Day, Baby – long just like this blog entry. GO NDSU!

Many years ago, my buddy Janelle and I started a wonderful cooking baking tradition.  One Saturday a year, we get together and bake everything we can think of.  None of it healthy at all.  Our first year was a mess and took forever and we ran out of things, and on and on, but by now we have this ordeal fine tuned.  Today, we cranked out all the good…

20101204_110120_6187

Our outfits tell a lot about who we are.  She is in Nikes and jeans and I am in sweats.  She is all business, and I am the slacker.

Janelle showed up with these Kris Kringle Cookies already done and frozen.  She is superwoman, I tell ya.

20101204_200133_6214

She also showed up with sugar cookies already baked, but I try not to dwell on her overachievement.    (We missed you again, Nisha!)   She also had two other dough’s ready to go.  I felt so bad and guilty at this point (fibbing a little here about my feelings.)

I, being the overbooked, somewhat burnt out lady that I am, was supposed to have Peanut Butter Blossoms already done, but no.  I hadn’t even thought about it.  (Another fib, I thought about them at 9:00 last night and decided that Janelle has experienced enough of procrastinator Deb to not be surprised when she walked in to nothing done-ness and she still is my friend, so all would be ok if I decided to do nothing rather than bake last night.  Pretty sure that was a run on sentence.) So, I started making a quad batch of them – note to self – triple would be fine, we made 15 dozen and it took us 5 hours.  “5 hours??”  You say.  Yes, 5 hours because we took a little break for lunch in there, and also made another variety of sweets that needed to set.  More on that later.  Anyways, long story short, they are done.

20101204_120305_6188

While I was making those in slow motion, Janelle, being the ever-speedy, on-task, type-A, organized woman she is, whipped out these awesome Chocolate Andes Mint Cookies.  We decided they needed a spiffy name and Bill decided they look like Outhouse Cookies.  From now on, we will refer to them by that name.  (They reminded him of a favorite breakfast around here, Outhouses.)

20101204_110056_6186

Janelle also pumped out Peanut Butter Cups and Marshmallow Cream Fudge. (I am not sure if this is the exact recipe – she used the one on the back of the marshmallow cream jar, which is in a garbage bag in the big green trash can that has 4 trays of chilling goodies on it, getting ready to dip.  Not about to dig it out.) Instead of putting the fudge in a 9X13 or anything like that, she put it right into small cupcake liner things.  Perfect.  I think all I need to perfect the eating of one of those is some ready whip and a spoon.  Delish.

Peanut Butter Cups

Mix and refrigerate until chilled:

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup margarine

2 cups powered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

Roll into small balls.

Melt 1 1/2 packages of chocolate almond bark and 3/4 package vanilla almond bark.  Place small amount of chocolate mixture in bottom of petit four cups.  (For those who don’t know, they are the tiny cupcake liners I mentioned above.) place in peanut butter ball.  Cover with more chocolate mixture.  Allow to set.  (We used the trusty garbage can garage chilling method, handy this time of year.  Poor folks who live where it is above zero have to have two fridges to accomplish what we accomplished today.  Score.)

20101204_170447_6202 This is the fudge.  Peanut butter cups are almost identical.

Ok, after that, I was still baking the Peanut Butter Blossoms (getting pretty sick of it by now) so Janelle and some helpers tackled the frosting of her sugar cookies. 

20101204_143801_6190   20101204_143813_6191  20101204_143825_6192

I have to mention at this point what a trooper she is for letting anyone else frost her cookies – SHE IS THE SUGAR COOKIE QUEEN.  The girls have been known to get carried away with the sprinklage, but this year, they were pretty good.   I bet you won’t be able to in a couple years, but for now, see if you can tell who frosted which ones.

20101204_145017_6195

20101204_154202_6198    20101204_154208_6199

Somewhere in here, we also managed to make the annual “I hate nuts, but you like them” treats.  We both start with circle pretzels, melt a Rolo in the middle of each one (250 degrees for about 3.5 minutes) and then she pushes a pecan into her smooshy Rolo, and I press a M&M, although this year, some of my M&M’s just said “n” on them – see the bottom green one?????  And either way you have an easy yet delightful taste of the holidays.  Great project for kids, too.  Although our kids didn’t help at all with this.

20101204_143856_6194    20101204_155542_6200

Then we decided we hadn’t accomplished enough and set out to set a world’s record for most peanut butter balls made in one afternoon while simultaneously rolling out mint balls to dip in chocolate. 

20101204_170455_6203   20101204_170508_6204

No picture can capture the mood as we hunkered down at the table thinking, “Holy balls!! What have we done?”  Because it got messy.  Note to self:  a little hand mixer, even if it is Kitchen aid, cannot get to the peanut butter on the bottom of the bowl.  Add powdered sugar = problem solved.

20101204_163833_6201

And then she left me.  Yes, up and left.  I think she had some excuse about painting behind a toilet. 

So, I got to pick up where we left off – that is what I get for procrastinating.  I rounded up Mrs. Clause’s little slaves elves and we started the fun activity of dipping all those balls.  See the smiles?  They are fake. 

20101204_195608_6212

It was about this point that Bill decided to work on the snow blower, making the whole garage smell like exhaust.  Cookies cannot taste like that, so I rescued them from my garage cooler and used the back step as my back up.

20101204_194613_6210

Things got out of hand with the next yummy treat.  The idea seemed simple, I remember them from childhood.  I am talking about the infamous green Corn Flake Wreaths.  I decided to introduce the girls to one of my favorites.  Tip #1:  Use a bowl big enough for your marshmallows and butter or

20101204_190938_6209

That must have messed up my recipe somehow because although they look picture perfect, they never set.  Princess Pieper loved them so she scooped them up and put the stuff in a glad ware to eat with a fork.  Whatever.

20101204_190407_6206    20101204_190918_6207    20101204_190927_6208

The last goal of the day was to make monster cookies.  Guess what?  Once before I ventured into monster cookie land, and was overwhelmed.  I guess I have grown up a ton because this was easy, thanks to the mac daddy of all mixers.  Bill bought me this monster a few years ago, and it can make monster cookies in a snap.  AHA!!  So I guess I didn’t remember that I have to chill the dough overnight.  It is in the garage walk in cooler with the rest of the finished cookies.

20101204_204556_6215

I told Janelle that once I mopped my floor, I would know this day was over.  Well, I still have to bake those monster cookies so somehow tomorrow I will get that floor mopped and call Bakapaloosa 2010 a wrap.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 18:52:48

    Deb, we did awesome. I have officially marked which boxes the guys can eat out of and which are off limits for now. (Some goodies just need to be shared with others). Our baking day is one of my favorite days of the whole year. And we did awesome in the not-eating-too-much department. Whoo-hoo! Bill, on the other hand ate his share and someone else’s too.

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 19:26:09

      I need to confess that I just ate two warm monster cookies. BAD ME! 🙂 Loved them so much. They are finally done and cooking for ya. I will deliver the stuff tomorrow 🙂

      Reply

  2. Trackback: A trip to the Deep Fat Fryer « Our Piep Show
  3. Trackback: Ham–one of the perfect meats (sorta) « Our Piep Show
  4. Trackback: Today was Scraptastic « Our Piep Show
  5. Trackback: Camp Oh-yeah-this-is-the-way-it-is-supposed-to-be!! « Our Piep Show
  6. Trackback: 3 Pillars of my Existence « Our Piep Show
  7. Trackback: Bakin’ up Some Good Stuff « Our Piep Show
  8. Trackback: A Little Addicted | Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

