A 2fer1 Tuesday deal!!

A new phenomenon has begun here on Our Piepshow.  It may be weekly, it may be hit and miss, but on some sort of regular Tuesdays from now on, you will be privileged to read a 2fer1 deal.  I have so much fun going back and forth with my sister-in-law so we decided you all get to read our joint thoughts, which I am warning you, may get out of control at times.  Our brains work a lot alike, but often have different takes on life’s topics.

Today, we decided to take on the Writing Workshop prompt of the week together.

Mama's Losin' It

3.) CONTROVERSY! Are the new security measures performed by the TSA really that bad? Take a stance!

My Take: 

I don’t fly all that often.  I wish I could fly all over visiting all sorts of exotic places but a budget has to play some sort of role in my life, so my family tends to stay put or drive to our destinations.  In the rare case I fly somewhere, I love to play all the airport games.  I like to pull my luggage behind me because it feels all official.  I like to stand in line and show all my ID and stuff, it makes me feel important.  I really want to say something all funny when the checker inner asks if I packed my own bags.  But I don’t, because I know I might be subjected to, well, a cavity search or something even better.  I like taking my shoes off, because I plan ahead and wear slip on shoes, so who cares.  I love the game of seeing if we set off the metal detectors because I never have yet, and my hubby sets them off all the time.  I always hope he gets a pat down so I can watch and laugh, and I probably won’t change that line of thinking now.  Who needs belts and pockets full of crap?  Remember, I have my awesome purse?  Everything I need is in that thing.  So this February when Bill and I fly for our 1st real vacation in years, first to a warm place in the middle of winter for sure, I will get to play all the airport games with much delight. 

I would soooooooo much rather get scanned (lucky lucky person who gets that view of this hot bod in that manner)  and/or patted down (watch out, Bill will be very jealous!) than get blown up to smithereens.  If I have to play another airport game and jump through another hoop to be safer, then I will do it with glee and a glimmer of naughtiness in my eyes, hoping that just as Bill tends to set off the metal detectors and attract the fattest people on the plane to sit next to him, he may be one of the lucky ones who gets scanned and patted.  Just in case it is me and not him, I will provide the following picture for all the world to see so that no one in the TSA gets to see anything the rest of you don’t.  I am Miss July.  I don’t like how the picture makes my butt look fat, but whatev.

Her Take:

There was a time that I dreaded flying.  The thought of being cooped up in a metal container with wings tens of thousands of feet above ground away from everyone I love made me so anxious that I could barely function in the hours before a trip.  One trip I was coming home on a small prop plane and it was storming and there was so much turbulence and I felt so petrified… and then I looked out the window and I swear I saw Jesus’s face in the clouds.  It gave me a peace that I can’t explain.  From that moment on, my mindset when traveling is that it is ok… I am never alone.  I have actually come to enjoy flying… it is usually some good down time… relaxing with the tunes… I am out like a light.  Well, most of the time.  There was that one time I got sick… but that’s a different story!

Now, to the topic at hand.  The new security measures performed by the TSA.  I was the lucky recipient of both a full body scan (see Miss TSA calendar- February*) and a pat down.  I feel cheated, though, because I got the pat down BEFORE they made the modifications. I only got the “downtown” pat down and my top was totally ignored (apparently they didn’t think I could pack heat between the girls)! I really didn’t feel violated, the agents were professional, and I got a good chuckle out of the deal.  I know others do not take this lightly, but for a majority of people, this is a quick painless measure that at least makes an attempt to keep the evil out of the sky.  I am very aware that the system is not without its flaws, and that it will not prevent every potential tragedy.  The accountant in me wants to see the ROI for proof that it was a solid business decision to invest millions in the equipment, but I am guessing that is for them to know and for me to never find out!  For now, when I board, I just remember the peace I felt that one stormy night and that I am not alone.

(I added this direct photo of Miss February for those of you who don’t click on my links.)


Just for the record, it is she who found the TSA calendar.  Enjoy it if you have a warped mind, like we do.  I think the Jesus looking down from the clouds is giving us a waving finger and possibly a scowl right now!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 18:53:09

    I love it!! You ladies make some really good Miss TSA pin-ups! 🙂 Kev and I don’t agree with each other about the scanning process or pat downs. I told him he has to get over it when someone in our house (not mentioning names or numbers) has their next milestone birthday in two years we’re going to Hawaii to celebrate. The nameless person wants to spend their birthday warm on the beaches of Hawaii and not freezing in the snow drifts of ND…love the January birthday and we’re lucky enough that we both have one a day apart. 🙂

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Nov 30, 2010 @ 20:42:35

      Wow, she -oops, did I give something away? – is getting OLD!! 🙂

      Reply

      • Larisa
        Dec 02, 2010 @ 17:38:51

        Well, you didn’t mention what milestone that’s coming up, so no worries on who’s bday it’ll be. 🙂 I can’t help it that I want to be sitting on a warm Hawaiian beach for that next milestone…I’m sick of negative air temps and windchills and possibly blizzards (although a school out day on my bday would be good too) when it comes time to mark another year off the calendar. 🙂

  2. Missi
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 08:19:18

    I don’t think your butt looks fat in that pic… but I LOVE the shoes… where did you get them? Forever 21?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 17:06:10

    HAHAHAHAA – I found my way here via Mama Kat’s blog. And I’m glad I did – I got quite the chuckle. I wish I had someone to go back and forth with. What a great idea!

    I’ll be back! How can I NOT? You two are a hoot!

    Pam
    http://thejourneyleadshome.wordpress.com

    Reply

  4. Trackback: AHAHAHAHA–I am back!! « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

