Happy “you’re older than me” day to my hubby!!

Lucy, Bill, and I were all 35 yesterday.  Today, that all changes.  Today, he is older than me!!  Back in childhood, being older was a good thing.  Now, however, we are getting all too close to that big number that is supposed to be all black and sad and full of questioning of the meaning of life.  He is closer than I am for about 8 months…ah, crap, he is 8 months older than I am all the time, but this time of year, it is kinda fun to be the wife of an older man.  He is such a cradle robber. 

We got married 4 days after I turned 12.  He was also 12.  That’s just the way it works.  We were babies.  We grew into adulthood together.  Nah, we still are kids.  But really, we have grown from little babes to whatever it is we are now, and we have done it all together.  He met me at 90 lbs and now I am, shoot, like I am going to tell you.  I will let you in on the secret that my body has a few more stripes than it used to have and also a couple (**cough cough**) lumps here and there.  Oh, and a couple killer scars.  He loves me anyway.  That’s what it is all about!  I have a keeper. 

08-06-1994-Bill-and-Deb1994

So, an incomplete list of 20 things I love about Bill:

  1. He pumps almost all my van’s gas and I haven’t taken a vehicle in for an oil change since we started dating.
  2. He works hard – really hard – and provides financial security for our family.
  3. He rubs the knots out of my shoulders almost every time I ask, which is pretty much daily.
  4. He is a super involved dad.  Our kids are very blessed.
  5. He watches chick flicks whenever I want to.
  6. He lets me pick the restaurant almost every time and doesn’t complain when I pick Texas Roadhouse pretty much over and over and over.
  7. He does all our money junk.  He balances, deposits, budgets, and so on, and with free-spending me as a wife, it is a BIG job.
  8. He does all the heavy lifting, shoveling, hauling, etc. for me (probably to prevent more of #3)
  9. He doesn’t get mad at me when I do stupid things.
  10. He talks to me at 11 PM when my brain is still going, and then again at 7 AM when it has started again, even though he wants to sleep.
  11. He lets me go out with friends pretty much whenever I decide I am going towithout complaining.
  12. He wears old jeans and free Microsoft shirts so I can wear new sweaters (and pants, and shoes, and jewelry)
  13. He’s been known to vacuum.
  14. He does almost all our laundry.
  15. He knows I am intelligent (after all, I have a degree – someone in this house has to have one!) so he encourages me to use my brain, whether that was while I was a stay-at-home mom or now as a para.
  16. He eats toast without complaining.  Night after night, if he has to.
  17. He lets me be a complete goof nut and also lets me cry when I need to.  Moody moody little girl!!
  18. He nags me to take my meds.
  19. He bought a suit.  I am so stoked about that!!
  20. He can build and fix almost anything. 

There are so many more things, but this is a start.  Happy Birthday, Mr. P., cant believe you are sooooo old already!!

13

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missi
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 07:46:57

    Love the list… I agree, you have a keeper… and we’re blessed to have him as a part of our family! I wish I could say he’s older than ME… but, well, you know!

    Happy Birthday, Bill!

    Reply

  2. Roni
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 08:03:02

    Wow, does James look like his Dad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

