Ok, someone is a little OCD

I started a wedding project yesterday.  It is a simple beading project that involves about a yard of wire, some beads and baby food jars.  Didn’t think it would be all that involved.  After enslaving my kids and working on this for a couple hours, I have 14 done.  My goal is at least 90.  Will I stop now that I know I have tackled a project that is going to drive my OCD mind nuts?  Nope, because I refuse to EVER give in to a craft project.  EVER.  I will overcome.  I will be bringing the fun project to my family’s Thanksgiving dinner and then if not done, down to the farm to find more victims helpers and we will get this done as a team.  And when all lit up, these will look awesome. Hard to capture in a picture.

20101120_164328_6041

Alright, so our family also put up our Christmas trees and decorations yesterday.  I am a strong believer in waiting until Thanksgiving is over before starting in on this massive overhaul, but this year, with everything going on, it was kinda now or never.  I am known a wee bit in our home as the Christmas lights Nazi.    They must be perfect – from every angle.  Stand back and cross your eyes a little to be sure that they are even when blurred.  It takes a while, but then I can look at the tree for a month and not feel all unordered.  This year, I let the kids put the lights on the tree because I was busy beading jars, figuring the kids have been well trained.  They have been well-trained, because they left me this note:

20101121_093426_6051

I just wont look at that tree – it is next to the elliptical so I guess I just cant exercise until after Christmas.  Double bonus.  I will just stare at my tree all month:

20101121_093505_6054

One last thing.  It snowed last night – just a tiny bit.  Driveways are white, but grass is still brown.  That kind of snow.  You know, the kind of snow that makes you want to run around barefoot outside. 

20101121_093442_6053

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:28:03

    Ooooh those are pretty! Let me know if you need some more wire. I have a ton of it leftover from our wedding 3.5 years ago!

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Nov 21, 2010 @ 20:23:20

      thanks for the offer, Kari 🙂 I think I am ok, but will keep that in mind. You wanna bead? HAHAHAHA We had a productive night and are up to about 27 done!! Almost a third of the way! Ran out of pink beads already – I think that is 800 pink beads on the jars, making it 1600 to go. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Larisa
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:53:09

    Nice work on the jars….who was crazy enough to go barefoot in the snow?

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Nov 21, 2010 @ 16:45:09

      JP and Lucy went out for a little jog this morning – I guess they did it last year too, making it a tradition?!?!?!?!

      Reply

  3. Kristie
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 09:03:52

    Do you need more baby food jars?? I have a some if you need them.
    I may have to take a few out of the bag and try out my craft skills!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The second half got a little, well, stressed–an overview « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

