The things I said I’d never do

The Things I Said I'd Never Do

Got this idea from another blog. Yep, stole it.  I am a smooth criminal just like Michael Jackson sings about.  Annie are you ok?

Sing along, you know you want to!!

Ok, there are so many thing I said I would never do in my life.

#1.  When I was told some crap line like, “because I’m the parent and I said so,” I promised myself I would never say something like that.  I always knew I would have a logical explanation for my children concerning the decisions and rules I made for them.  Never would I use that “because I’m the parent and I said so” line simply because I a) really had no reason to begin with or b) was too lazy to come up with a reason or c) my reason was completely bogus or selfish. 

#2.  I never thought for a million years I would not give selflessly of my time to play board games, babies, or Legos with my children.  I was going to be the mom who sat on the floor for hours and engaged in activities with my kids.  But then guess what?  They had built in buddies and I had other things to do, like nap. 

#3.  I never thought I would lose touch with the latest styles.  That was back in the ‘80’s and ‘90’s when I cared.  Those styles are back and look as stupid now as they did then, so to partake, I get them for my fashionista daughter and then throw on my jeans and sweatshirts and call it good.

#4.  I never thought I would give up Mt. Dew but I did.  I was going to be the Dew drinking, Cinnamon Toast Crunch eating, roller skating, hip and happening mom.  Instead, I drink water (or warm apple cider if I feel like being crazy), eat oatmeal or malt-o-meal, take naps, and wear whatever is comfy.  Yes, it has happened – I have let myself go a little and it feels wonderful.

#5.  I never planned to, or maybe more specifically, I planned to never ever ever be mean to my kids.  But I am.  I make them do chores, make them do homework, make them drink milk that is not chocolate, make them play outside, make them pick up their rooms, and all the sorts of stuff that drive kids nuts.  That is how I roll.  MEAN.

How about you – what are some things you said you’d never do?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 15:53:41

    Like you I said I’d never say because I’m the parent and I said so. I also said I’d never make different things for the kids to eat than what KJ & I were eating because my Mom never did(BJ kind of changed that rule for me when he was so little and sick).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

