Brace yourself!

We are bracing ourselves for the financial implications, and our kids are bracing themselves for the “tinsel-teeth” comments.  We are 1/4 of the way into our “going belly up as we straighten our kids’ teeth” personal recession.  Vacations may be fewer and farther between, the kids’ pants might have holes in the knees, but by golly, their smiles will be priceless when this is all said and done.

$5000 + for wire and colored rubber bands on teeth.  Seriously?  What’s with that? I understand an orthodontist went to college for a while, but so did I.  They might torture kids by pulling and straightening teeth, but I torture by teaching your kids to read, write, and do math, which I consider WAY more important,  and I do it for considerably less.  Like around $4988 less. I think something is seriously wrong with this pricing system.   

$5000 X 4 = Holy Crap we are getting ripped off.

Last month, Crazy man got a tooth pulled – I watched.  I could do it.  Stick a needle in, wiggle the tooth with that medal tool for 10 seconds, charge a couple hundred bucks.  Shoot, our school janitor pulls multiple teeth a year, I wonder what she charges, because next time, I just might send the kids to her.  She has a way with wire snippers.

20101115_164238_6012              20101115_214501_6013

We had to get her out of bed to take the braces shot…dad didn’t see the importance of a braces on THE DAY of getting them picture because she lives here and we will have lots of pictures of her with them on.  Whatever, get her up, I need a picture on the day of!!  Pink and Green, baby, Auntie Stacy, be proud!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 21:13:36

    You’re kids are such troopers with the braces(not that they have much of a choice). I’m praying the boys don’t have to go through braces, but if they got the Johnson teeth, we’ll be in it for the long haul. You’ll have to give me pointers. Tell K, she looks good w/her pink and green braces. 🙂

    Reply

  2. stacy
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 07:52:30

    Wow! I didn’t realizre they were getting them on already! Crazy! I didn’t get mine till 8th grade. Hopefully they’re as cool now as they were then! And I love the pink, green & silver wedding colors she will be sporting! Maybe we’re can ask the dentist if we can borrow same braces for decorations on tables- although one table might cost more than the wedding! Ha! Will your other kids get them soon?

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Nov 16, 2010 @ 22:17:00

      Oh, the who’s who of the elementary scene has braces, ya know. A status symbol – a sure sign that you are one of those mature grown-up types. JP is probably the next to fall, but we are waiting for a couple teeth to drop down further. The other two may be a couple years still. I hope. Time to recover in between.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

