Just because you are a parent doesn’t mean you have to be lame

Toyota Highlander has a great series of ads out there with a cute little kid whose parents drive a cool car, unlike other kids who have to “suffer” with parents who might drive station wagons, or worse, a car that says, “Hi.  We’re the Geek Family!”  He tells us that although he is a little lame, deep deep down inside, his dad has a deep inner coolness and refers to his mom as Mrs. J.

I am sure that I felt this way when I was a kid, but now that I am a parent, I take offense.  First of all, I am way more cool than my parents ever were, possibly more cool than any parent who has ever walked the face of the earth.  I know that as I walk around town with my kids, people are thinking, “ WHOA!!  She must be the nanny!”  or maybe, “She musta started having those kids when she was 12.” 

Sure I drive a minivan; it is paid for.  Is it cool?  Nope.  I don’t impress anyone when I pull in to Middle School to pick up my kid, but guess what – I don’t care.  My kids can suffer the agony of a van that is paid for, runs well, and has driven us from coast to coast.  They can languish every time they go to ballet or piano lessons, are dropped off at friends, and taken out for dinner or a movie.  Poor poor kids.  I pay the gas too – oh how they suffer.  (In their defense, my kids have never complained…I think they know the free ride can end anytime I decide it is over.)

Am I lame?  Ummmmmm, really?  What parent isn’t lame in kids’ eyes?  It is my job to be lame.  Kids can keep thinking they are invincible and smarter than adults, and we adults will keep them alive until they are old enough to know better.

This kid is super cute though, isn’t he??

PS.  I don’t wear fanny packs.  EVER.  Not even at Disneyworld where 90% of adults are sporting the look.

Leave a Reply

