Matthew 5:9 Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

John 14:27   Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Doormat vs. Peacemaker:  “You let her win” was the quote last night.  What it pertains to isn’t important, what is is the thinking it has inspired.   Sure I “let her win” because it wasn’t important that I outlast just to win.  The “contest” had no bearing on my life.  The outcome changed nothing for me.  I chose to be a peacemaker.  At what cost?  I was the loser.  And I don’t care.  Moving on. 

Does that make me a doormat?  I have been reading this message from workingpreacher.com because in the past, I have been accused of being a doormat.  (I am learning how to stop being a doormat as I have blogged about before.  I am working on the learning to say no part.)

From workingpreacher: “Thus, thirdly, patience is essential to the process of becoming a peacemaker. The premature resolution of conflict usually inflicts some kind of violence on one of the parties involved, by silencing them. The patience to listen, to withhold judgment, to attend to each person’s or group’s or country’s concerns, is a major part of diplomacy, whether in marriage counseling, family life, church politics, or international relations. James calls this kind of diplomacy the “wisdom from above,” which is “pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, without uncertainty or insincerity” (3:17). And he adds, “And the harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace” (3:18).”

Life is all about learning and bettering yourself.  This is what I am pondering today.  How about you?

Matthew 5:9 Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

Leave a Reply

