One who proctors

This week is one of our annual favorites – state assessments.  Back when we were in school, it was the lovely Iowa Basics – you know that wonderful little booklet with a bazillion pages of fill-in-the-dot glorious fun.  Reading long boring story selections and answering questions about them.  Oh the memories.  I remember mostly rushing through it so I could have free time to read or draw or something like that.  Well, this week, I am one of the mean proctors who reads the directions and keeps the special kiddos on task, lucky duck kids.  Once in the middle of the language arts section, I reached back for something, forgetting that the shorter chairs like the one I was sitting on have a slightly different center of gravity, and fell over backwards, accidentally yelping out a loud, “CRAP!”  Oh the kids found great joy in that.  Anything I can do to make them feel relaxed and comfortable so our test scores are the best they can be. 

So anyway, I got to thinking that if I am proctoring tests, does that make me a proctologist? Before I was allowed to be the official proctor, I had to read the instruction manual; thus, I am one who studies proctoring.  Proctology = the study of proctoring.  I am sure the kids are finding me to be a pain in the butt too – see what I mean?  I think I simply need the proctologist paycheck now. 

http://mspowell.com/discoveryclipart/boy%20taking%20test.bmp

I am trying to lay off the sugar this week – remember, I said I would type in everything I ate?  Well, this is not the week to start that nonsense.  I am a stress eater.  I am a junkfoodaholic.  I am  craving the sugar so badly.  I do love this entry at Hyperbole and a Half.  As much as I can relate to the cake-craving girl, I so much more relate to the mom who has Crazy Man to deal with.  Sounds like a game I play daily with him  Little bugger.  I guess the apple didn’t fall too far from the tree. 

I guess it is time to be the grown up in the house and join the kids in the cleaning power hour. 

A.  So much to do, so little time. 

B.  So much “I-don’t-give-a-rip” attitude. 

C.  So much bad attitude, so much need of a massage and nap. 

D.  All of the above

Please fill in your answer completely, and only one answer

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 17:05:37

    Fill in my choice as E, all of the above please!! ;0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

