My sweet tooth needs this

The Gracious Pantry is pretty much an example of awesomeness.  I try so hard to eat things that are nourishing and sometimes my sweet tooth needs to have something so I don’t go berserk and down a bag of Kit Kats.  I found a couple recipes that I pretty much could eat for breakfast lunch and dinner (and every snack in between.)  Check out her Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream” and these Brownies.  There are a ton more recipes that you will find enjoyable on her site.

Last night, I made a huge pot of white chili to take to a school pot-luck lunch today.  I cant wait to carry that thing in while trying not to A) slip in the slushy wet mess the weather system is leaving for us or B) blow over or C) burn myself.

White Chicken Chili (recipe from my friend Eva, who brought it during my surgery recovery. YUM! Awesome with soft garlic bread on the side, but then, what isn’t awesome with soft garlic bread?)

1 lb. skinless chicken breast (cooked and shredded)

1 medium onion, diced

1 tsp garlic powder

2 15 oz cans of great northern beans

1 14.5 oz can chicken broth

2 4 oz cans green chilies

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup heavy whipping cream

______________________________________________________

Kids are great therapy.  I go to work in a fog, end up home in a fog, but for some reason, the kids I work with can sooth my soul and bring smiles and laughing to my day.  Yesterday, I had a very deep conversation with one of my kids who thought that when the world ends, all the kids should just be suspended in space.  “Not heaven?” I asked.  He proceeded to inform me about his concerns for repopulating a new earth, and that the kids would be needed for that job. So no heaven for the kids, they will be needed for future populating jobs.  Fine, I am going to heaven – you stay here and repopulate. I am so done with that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 20:40:40

    I might have to try the white chili recipie…it sounds good, and smelled good when you walked by me w/the crock pot on your way to the car today. 🙂
    I’m opting to go to heaven to while the kids repopulate the new world….that kid cracks me up!! 😉

    Reply

  2. Trackback: A Crock Pot Day in June « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

