The very core of my existence

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”- Psalm 19:14

In the very center of who I know myself to be, I am a God-serving, whole-hearted believing Christian.  Not a Christmas/Easter Christian, not a Sunday-morning-only Christian, not a shove-it-in-your-face Christian, but a doing what I believe God asks me to do kind of Christian.

Micah 6:8 He has showed you, O man, what is good.
       And what does the LORD require of you?
       To act justly and to love mercy
       and to walk humbly with your God.

Act Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly.  Those are my daily goals, branded into my heart.

My daily life should be an extension of my personal values.  The things I choose to do with my time, including my job, my hobbies, my interactions with others, my outings should all point to the purpose of my life.  I was made for a specific reason, I was placed where I am, with who I am, when I am, for a purpose and my job is to sit back and listen.  When I am prompted, I am to act. 

What does that mean for me in real life right now?

First, I have to be available to listen: listen to promptings, listen to friends, co-workers, children, neighbors who might need encouragement, listen to the gut feeling that I can help.  I don’t care if you are not a Christian – God used Balaams’s donkey so he can pretty much use your ass too.  (Oh man, I just had to do it, forgive me!!)  People are hurting all around me – am I willing to put down my concerns and give those people time to share and give them sincere encouragement or even a helping hand?  Or am I just too wrapped up in my own life to see how I am needed in others’?

Second, if I am stirred to move, I need to move.  Sure, this can mean packing up my entire life and moving, but it could also mean going to a neighborhood party that “I really don’t have time for,” getting out of bed early to prepare a meal for someone or driving out of my way to drop something off at someone’s house.  Simple things can mean so much for someone struggling to pull it all together.

It is that simple – if I can sincerely be a helping hand, or a prayer warrior for someone, or just a listening ear, I need to do it.  I think that’s what Jesus would do.  I need to be better at this.  My goal this upcoming week is to look for ways to help others.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Rossow
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 17:29:15

    and I love you for it!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: in one tiny moment « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

