Beans Beans the Magical Fruit…food for the upcoming week

I have had a request to post my cooking plan a bit earlier so people have time to get the groceries and play along.  All fine and dandy, because it will probably help me too.  This coming week is a short week for us due to the awesome incredible 4-day weekend we have coming up!  So, for most of the week, I have no plan…

Just because Grown-ups don’t eat school lunch:

Bean Bible is another great website for finding healthy recipes (thanks for the link, Sandra!)  Beans make a great addition to any diet.  I plan to make Texas Black Bean Soup this weekend.  Probably will eat it for lunches – I will be a single mom for the week, so I better be prepared.  I will make Clawson’s Sweet Hawaiian Dinner Rolls to go with the soup.  (Thanks for the recipe, Crystal!!)

I will also be making banana chocolate chip muffins and granola.  

If I am an overachiever, I will also make Caramel Chocolate Bars:

Melt, mix and set aside:

50 light caramels

1/3 cup Evaporated Milk

________________

1 Package German Chocolate Cake Mix

3/4 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup Evaporated milk

1 cup semi-sweet choc pieces

Combine cake mix, butter, evaporated milk and press 1/2 of dough in greased 9X13 pan.  Bake at 350 for 6 minutes.  Take out, spread chocolate chips and caramel mixture over baked crust.  Drop remaining dough on top and then bake 15 – 18 minutes more. When cool, refrigerate for 30 minutes to set caramel. Everyone loves these bars. 

Sunday

Slow Cooker Cheese Enchilada Stack  except we are a non-olive eating family.  Sounds easy and like something maybe all 4 kids will eat, I hope.

 

Monday

I will be running the crazy farm by myself, so it has to be in the crock pot or it wont happen.  I am planning Crockpot Pork Tenderloin served over baked brown rice and a veggie for a side.  YUM!!!  This will be a totally new way of cooking pork for me.

Tuesday

I am hoping I can get the kids delivered and picked up by myself on this insane day, and still find time to make Baked Mac N Cheese for them.  They have done so well eating all my grown up stuff, it will be their turn.  (I will probably eat a salad – my favorite right now being greens topped with toasted pecans, feta, shredded chicken, and craisins with a raspberry vinaigrette dressing.)

Wednesday – Sunday

The plan is to eat my mother-in-law’s awesome cooking and baking!  I will most likely gain a few pounds.  Worth every bite!  She is my inspiration when it comes to cooking.  The only thing she has cooked that I would never make is that one year she decided to make a goose for Christmas – it was not like you imagined, nothing like the Norman Rockwell painting – and I think we all agreed it was the first and LAST time that would happen.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Back in the saddle again « Our Piep Show
  2. Trackback: Oh my, he is getting older and I can’t stop him! « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

